Weather Forecast


Rebel boys, Wildcat girls winn Class A titles

WORTHINGTON -- Murray County Central's boys and Southwestern United's girls claimed the Class A team titles Thursday at the 55th annual Trojan Relays track and field meet.

MCC won the boys' title with 165 points, Southwest Christian finished second with 134½ points, and Adrian placed third with 107½ points.

Fulda (94), SWU (82), Westbrook-Walnut Grove/Red Rock Central (60), Mountain Lake/Butterfield-Odin (39) and Worthington JV (12) rounded out the field of eight competing teams.

The MCC boys received 13 individual top-three finishes, including three event titles. Three Rebel relay squads placed among the top three, as well.

MCC's Nate Ellens won the 1600-meter run with a time of 4:51.98, as he pulled away from Adrian's Ethan Wieneke (second, 4:52.79) and SWC's Ethan Spronk (4:53.86) in the final lap to win the gold medal.

"I knew it would be a battle with the two Ethans," Ellens said. "I had to have a strong last lap to hold those two guys off and finish with a good time."

Spronk came back later and won the 3200-meter race, as his time of 10:44.75 bested Adrian's Jordan Pater (second, 10:47.35) and W-WG/RRC's Forrest Asp (third, 11:13.19).

SWC also had individual winning performances from Jordan Spronk (11.69) in the 100-meter dash and Aaron Sandbulte (17.71) in the 110-meter hurdles.

Two Eagle relay teams placed first, as the 4x100-meter team (45.87) of Kyle Schelhaas, Trevor Holm, Brandon DeWeerd and Jordan Spronk, and the 4x200-meter team (1:35.36) of Jordan Spronk, Holm, DeWeerd and Nicholas Pfeifle each finished first in their respective races.

MCC's foursome of Cole Hegstad, Tony Falk, Nick Harmsen and Anthony Gleis ran a time of 3:36.56 to win the 4x400-meter relay, while Adrian's group of Jarod Boltjes, Wieneke, Dustin Lonneman and Chris Reisdorfer won the 4x800-meter relay in 8:48.24.

Gleis and Matt VanMeveren gave MCC a one-two finish in the 300-meter hurdles with respective times of 42.71 and 44.74.

The Rebels also took the top two spots in the pole vault, with Patrick Peterson (11-6) and Alex Peterson (11-0) doing the honors.

The high jump title went to Fulda's Chris Dardis with a jump of 5-10. Daniel Clausen won the 200-meter dash in 24.96, and Miguel Lavoie won the 800-meter run in 2:08.66, giving Fulda two more individual winners.

Adrian's Blake Springman was a double-event winner, earning the titles with tosses of 45-9½ and 138-7 in the shot put and discus, respectively.

SWU also had a twin-event winner in Nick Ober, who won the triple jump (38-8½) and the long jump (19-0¾) titles. Wildcat teammate Shaun Mathias placed second in the long jump with his bound of 18-10½.

Garett Amundson of W-WG/RRC ran a time of 54.92 to win the 400-meter dash.


Sparked by 14 top-three finishes, the SWU wildcats won the girls' team competition with 153 points.

ML/B-O was second with 114 points, and SWC placed third with 89½ points.

Rounding out the eight-team field were Fulda (84½), Adrian (83), W-WG/RRC (78½), MCC (73½) and Worthington JV (19).

SWU's Amanda Baumgarn won the 100-meter dash (13.55), placed second in the 200 (28.92), took third in the long jump (14-4¾) and was a member -- along with Sara Kontio, Betsy Voehl and Jenna Leopold -- of the winning 4x200-meter relay team (1:52.34).

Also winning events for the Wildcats were Rachel Wilson (800, 2:34.48), Voehl (long jump, 15-5) and Bria Baumgard (triple jump, 33-5).

W-WG/RRC's Krystle Sell won the pole vault by clearing eight feet. She also had two second-place finishes (100, 13.70; 400, 1:03.09) and placed third in the 200 with a time of 29.25.

Adrian had two relay squads win races, with Kourtney Kramer, Hailee Heitkamp, Austyn Thier and Erica Thier claming top honors in the 4x400 (4:21.46), and Erica Thier, Leslie Stover, Natasha Slater and Megan Henning taking the top spot in the 4x800 (10:13.56).

Erica Thier (400, 1:02.88) and Heitkamp (300 hurdles, 53.23) won individual titles for Adrian, while Dragons Stover and Kramer placed two-three in the 1600 with respective times of 5:34.83 and 5:43.76.

SWC's quartet of Chelsea Christians, Courtney DeKam, Lacy Bobb and Amber Buys won the 4x100, clocking in at 54.30.

MCC's Laura Christensen won the 1600 with a time of 5:32.76 before later winning the 3200 with a time of 12:08.48.

ML/B-O had four individual titles, with two coming from Kaysee Nesmoe in the shot put (38-10) and discus (117-0). Kaitlin Feil won the 100 hurdles with a time of 17.86, and Jennie Romsdahl won the 200 with a time of 28.50.

Fulda's Mari Holinka topped the field of high jumpers with a leap of 4-8.