Weather Forecast


Pipestone Area girls, Redwood Valley boys claim SWC track & field titles

PIPESTONE -- Sparked by a total of 11 top three places, including a one-two finish in the high jump, the Pipestone Area Arrows repeated as Southwest Conference girls' track and field champions Thursday.

The Arrows racked up 140½ points to win the seven-team by 26½ points.

Marshall (114) won a close battle for second over Luverne (109½) and Windom (103½).

Worthington was fifth in the girls' meet with 95 points, followed by Redwood Valley (79) and Jackson County Central (54½).

Redwood Valley showed its strength in the distance races and field events, as the Cardinals accumulated 192½ points and ran away with the boys' team championship.

Marshall finished second with 148 points, while defending champion Worthington was third with 111 points.

Pipestone Area (102½), Luverne (65), JCC (37) and Windom (29) completed the boys' field.

Faith Tinklenberg cleared the high jump bar at five-feet-two-inches for Pipestone Area's only girls' individual conference title, while Beth Tinklenberg (5-0) placed second, giving the Arrows 18 points in that event.

Carolyn Cooper (100-meter dash, 13.63), Bree Woelber (100-meter high hurdles, 17.06) and Steph Kocourek (300-meter low hurdles, 49.79) also picked up valuable second place finishes for the PA girls.

Kocourek added a third in the 200-meter dash (28.17), while Jenna Kozlowski (400-meter dash, 1:02.97) and Ann Marie Dykstra (3200-meter run, 12:04.81) also scored six points for the Arrows.

A trio of PA relay teams combined for 28 points, as the Arrows won both the 4 x 100 (53.74) and 4 x 200 (1:52.20) before finishing a close second in the 4 x 400 (4:17.38).

JCC's Amanda Darling was a triple individual champion, winning the 100 (13.25), long jump (16-1) and 200 (27.00).

Marshall's Brooke Wyfells won both the 1600 (5:26.89) and 3200 (11:56.39), while Redwood Valley's Gabi Swoboda finished second in each with respective times of 5:29.06 and 12:04.79.

Ashley Aggen (100-meter high hurdles, 16.72) and Sarah Cham (triple jump, 35-6¼) won individual championships for Worthington.

Luverne won a pair of gold medals in back-to-back races, as Allison Henke won the 400-meter dash (1:02.49) and Katlyn Sawtelle finished first in the 300-meter low hurdles (48.85).

Windom won the 4 x 800 relay (10:26.86) and also scored individual firsts when Alex Potter raced to victory in a thrilling 800-meter race (2:27.09) and Alyssa Lyons topped the field in the pole vault, clearing 9-6.

Luverne's Lexi Jo Heitkamp was a close second in the 800 (2:27.13), finished third in the 1600 (5:29.46) and tied for the fifth in the high jump (4-8).

Windom's Christy Nepp and Abby Luitjens were also double top three finishers. Nepp was second in the shot put (37-6) and third in the discus (121-11), while Luitjens came in second in the 200 (28.03) and finished third in the 100 (13.91).


Redwood Valley had victories from Justin Peters in the 1600 (4:40.16) and Anthony Bongard in the 3200 (10:29.26), along with wins in both the 4 x 100 relay (46.69) and 4 x 800 (8:32.30) on the track.

The Cardinals also scored well in the field events, as Kevin Pendleton won the high jump (5-10) and Jeff Nelson (45-6¼) and Kyle Paskewitz (45-3) went 1-2 in the shot put.

Pipestone Area's tandem of Derek Sumption (139-6) and Ryan Houg (134-3) placed one-two in the discus, while teammate Luke Tinklenberg won the long jump with a leap of 19-9¼.

Luverne's Ben Uphoff won both hurdle races, running the 110 highs in a time of 16.23 and clocking a time of 42.35 in the 300-meter intermediates.

Worthington's trio of Travis Pedersen (42-10½), Adou Omot (40-7) and Aaron Schultz (38-7¾) swept the triple jump, scoring 24 points for the Trojans with their 1-2-3 finish.

Omot claimed an individual championship, winning a close race over Redwood Valley's Michael Felt in the 800-meter run. Omot clocked a winning time of 2:05.41, while Felt was timed at 2:06.91.

The Trojans also scored victories in both the 4 x 200 and 4 x 400 relays.

Running the 4 x 200 in a time of 1:34.63 were Neal Melton, John Mead, Pedersen and Omot.

The foursome of Pedersen, Mead, Felipe Ortega and Omot won the last race of the meet (4 x 400) in a time of 3:38.70, nipping Redwood (3:39.27) in an exciting race.

Pederson had earlier finished second in the 400-meter dash (52.47), which was won by Marshall's Sam Bofferding (52.38).

Bofferding also won the 200 (23.84) and finished third in the 100 (12.42).

Marshall's Daniel Kulawig won the 100 in a time of 12.27 and JCC's Cole Von Ohlen won the pole vault by clearing 12 feet.