Weather Forecast


Brief: MnSP elects new officers, board

BREWSTER -- Minnesota Soybean Processors made a few board member changes during its annual meeting March 15.

Denis Slepikas, representing District 5, was elected to a three-year term to the 21-member Board of Directors. He replaces Todd Stroschein, who did not stand for reelection. Reelected to three-year terms were Steffen Van Westen, District 1; Ronald Obermoller, District 2; Don Louwagie, District 3; Galen VanBeek, District 4; Eric Thorn, District 6; and Darol Schmitz, District 7 at-large.

At its April 16 board meeting, the following officers were elected to serve on the executive committee for the 2008-09 year: Jim Sallstrom, from District 3, president; Paul Henning, from District 7, vice president; Don Louwagie, from District 3, secretary; and Robert Kirshner, from District 1, treasurer.

MnSP is a 2,300-plus membership cooperative that owns and operates the soybean crush facility and biodiesel operation in Brewster. The MnSP Brewster facility can process 100,000 bushels of soybeans a day.

For information about MnSP, visit or contact Kim Collin at (507) 842-6715.