Weather Forecast


School boards elected in Iowa

WORTHINGTON -- New members were elected to the Sibley-Ocheyedan School Board Tuesday with nearly 11 percent voter turnout.

In the race for director of District 3, Jeff Knobloch received 214 votes, beating out incumbent Cindy Onken, who had 153 votes. Paul Feldkamp was elected as director of District 5 with 264 votes. Additionally, Loretta Berkland was elected as Northwest Iowa Community College District 3 director with 334 votes.

In Lyon County, Steven Sieperda garnered 413 votes in the school election to earn the Central Lyon slot. Renae M. Grooters was second with 308 votes, and Patrick McArty had 305.

Douglas Krull picked up 100 votes while running unopposed in George-Little Rock District 1, while Lyle Hollander had 101 votes in a unopposed run in George-Little Rock District 3. Also running by themselves in the Lyon County school election were Allen Hassebroek (West Lyon 2, 20 votes), Kay Twedt (West Lyon 5, eight votes), and Chad Hamill (Northwest Iowa Community College District 5, 61 votes).