Weather Forecast


Branstad approves disaster assistance after storms

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) -- Gov. Terry Branstad has announced individual disaster assistance programs for residents dealing with damage in four counties hit by recent storms.

Branstad on Tuesday approved proclamations for Marion, Marshall, Tama and Dickinson counties. The program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with an income at or below twice the federal poverty level.

Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for expenses linked to storm recovery efforts. Grants are available for home or car repairs, clothing and temporary housing.