Weather Forecast


FFA Chapter has two state officers

SIBLEY, Iowa -- For the first time ever, the Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA Chapter boasts two state officers in the same year, following elections Tuesday night during the 84th annual Iowa FFA Leadership Conference.

Steven Brockshus was elected state FFA President and Josh Earll was elected State FFA Vice-President. They are two of the nine elected officers to serve the 15,000-plus members of the Iowa FFA Association for the next year. This is the first State FFA President the chapter has had in its 75 years in existence.

Brockshus is a 2011 graduate of S-O and Earll will graduate in May.

In addition, Earll and Marissa Pham won the State FFA Talent competition singing a vocal duet before more than 5,000 people at the State FFA Leadership Conference in Ames. Marshall Eddy won the State FFA Poultry Proficiency Award, and Carson Gradert and Kevin Berkland (a 2011 graduate) were recognized for second place in the State FFA Diversified Crop Proficiency and Specialty Animal Proficiency award areas.