Weather Forecast


Polls open until 8 p.m. today in Primary election

WORTHINGTON -- Eligible voters from across the state will go to the polls today to cast their ballot for candidates they want to see advance to the general election in November.

In Nobles County, residents of Districts 2, 3 and 5 will be asked to narrow the field of commissioner candidates from three or four down to two.

In District 2, voters will decide between Bruce Loosbrock, Les Madison, Gene Metz and Vicky Ross. District 3 candidates are incumbent David Benson, and challengers Robert Paplow and Matt Widboom. Seeking the District 5 seat are Jacob Holck, Donald Linnssen and Marlyn Mammen.

In addition to county offices, voters will cast partisan ballots for federal offices including U.S. Senator and U.S. Representative; and non-partisan ballots for the judicial offices of Chief Justice Supreme Court and Associate Justice 4.

Nobles County residents received mailers from the Auditor-Treasurer's office in July identifying their polling place. Below is a list of those places and opening times:


Bigelow: 7 a.m., Bigelow Fire Hall.

Bloom: 8 a.m., Nobles Co. Auditor-Treasurer's Office, Worthington.

Dewald: 10 a.m., Rushmore City Hall, 136 N. Thompson Ave.

Elk: 10 a.m., Church of the Brethren, 20975 Oliver Ave., Reading.

Graham Lakes: 10 a.m., Dundee Fire Hall/City Hall, 111 N. Main St., Dundee.

Grand Prairie: 7 a.m., Grand Prairie Township Hall, 206 E. 2nd Ave. Ellsworth.

Hersey: 10 a.m., Brewster Legion Hall.

Indian Lake: 7 a.m., Round Lake City Hall.

Larkin: 10 a.m., Wilmont Community Center, 316 Fourth Ave.

Leota: 10 a.m., Leota Township Hall.

Lismore: 7 a.m., Lismore Fire Hall.

Little Rock: 10 a.m., Section 14 (Town Hall).

Lorain: 10 a.m., Meester Oil Co., 35526 Co. Highway 35.

Olney: 10 a.m., Adrian Archery Center, 204 Maine Ave., Adrian.

Ransom: 10 a.m., Section 22 (Township Hall).

Seward: 10 a.m., Section 17 (Township Hall).

Summit Lake: 10 a.m., Reading Community Center.

Westside: 10 a.m., Adrian Archery Center, 204 Main St., Adrian.

Wilmont: 10 a.m., Wilmont Community Center, 316 4th Ave.

Worthington: 10 a.m., Nobles Co. Administration Bldg., Rm 310.


(Polls open at 7 a.m.)

Adrian: Adrian Government Center, 209 Maine Ave. Suite 106.

Bigelow: Bigelow Fire Hall

Brewster: Brewster City Hall, 246 10th St. (new hall).

Dundee: Dundee Fire Hall/City Hall, 111 N. Main St.

Ellsworth: Grand Prairie Township Hall, 206 E. 2nd Ave.

Kinbrae: Nobles County Auditor-Treasurer's Office, Worthington.

Lismore: Lismore Fire Hall

Round Lake: Round Lake City Hall.

Rushmore: Rushmore City Hall, 136 N. Thompson Ave.

Wilmont: Wilmont Community Center, 316 4th Ave.

City of Worthington (Polls open at 7 a.m.)

Ward 1 Precincts 1, 2 and 3: First Baptist Church, 1000 Linda Lane.

Ward 1 Precincts 4 and 5: American Reformed Church, 1720 N. Burlington.

Ward 2 Precinct 1: YMCA, 1501 College Way.

Ward 2 Precincts 2 and 3: Nobles County Public Works Bldg., 960 Diagonal Road.

Ward 2 Precincts 4 and 5: Solid Rock Assembly Church, 1730 Diagonal Road.

Julie Buntjer

Julie Buntjer joined the Globe newsroom in December 2003, after working more than nine years for weekly newspapers. A native of Worthington, she has a bachelor's degree in agriculture journalism. Find more of her stories of farm life, family and various other tidbits at

(507) 376-7330