Weather Forecast


Adrian students star at speech meet

Eleven Adrian High School speech students qualified Saturday for the Class A Minnesota State Speech Tournament. They are (from left) Nick Lorang, first in Great Speeches; Bailey Grussing, first in Discussion; Cain Rauntenkranz, third in Humorous; Justice Redding, first in Extemporaneous Reading; Nick Loosbrock, second in Original Oratory; Natalie Cook, second in Storytelling; Amber Preuss, second in Great Speeches; Dillon John, second in Humorous; Jodi Bents, third in Informative Speaking; Tommy McCarthy...

MARSHALL -- Eleven Adrian High School speech team members will move on to state competition after the team earned the first-place team trophy Saturday at the 3A Minnesota Section Speech Tournament in Marshall.

Sixteen of Adrian's 21 section competitors qualified for finals, earning 62 points. Pipestone Area School was second with 42 points.

The top three finishers in each of the 13 categories are now eligible to compete Friday and Saturday at the Minnesota State High School Speech Tournament in Blaine.

The 11 Adrian High School speech students who qualified for the state meet are pictured at right.

Also earning points for the team in the section meet were Natasha Polzine, sixth in Serious Prose: Anna Haper, fifth in Original Oratory; Shelly Loosbrock and Nicole Knips, fifth in Duo Interpretation; and Brooke Grussing, sixth in Informative Speaking.

Several other Section 3A students qualified for the Minnesota State High School Class A Speech Tournament. The top three students in the section from each of the 13 speech categories move on to state competition.

State competitors this year include:

Creative Expression: Cheyenne Hill, first, Murray County Central: Kalani Steinmetz, second, Fulda and Zoe Roelfsema-Hummel, Pipestone.

Discussion: Bailey Grussing, first, Adrian; Taylor Homann, second, Pipestone and Collin Christians, third, Montevideo.

Duo Interpretation: Elizabeth Doom and Samantha Doom, first, MCC; Luke Wiering and William Dunblazier, second, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton and Lexi Wacker and Jarod Schiebout, third, Pipestone.

Extemporaneous Reading: Justice Redding, first, Adrian; Heidi Bau, second, MCC and Carmen Olsem, third, Fulda.

Extemporaneous Speaking: Zach Ploeger, first, Pipestone; Dylan Thorson, second, Luverne and Madison Dibble, third, Fulda.

Great Speeches: Nick Lorang, first, Adrian; Amber Preuss, second, Adrian and Addie Reinert, third, Montevideo.

Humorous: Fernando Yanez, first, RTR; Dillon John, second, Adrian and Cain Rauntenkranz, third, Adrian.

Informative Speaking: Tommy McCarthy, first, Adrian; Alex Carlbom, second, Montevideo and Jodi Bents, third, Adrian.

Original Oratory: Levi Carstensen, first, Pipesstone; Nick Loosbrock, second, Adrian and Kayla Lonneman, third, Adrian.

Serious Drama: Hannah Kruger, first, RTR; Sawyer Helgeson, second, Westbrook-Walnut Grove and Zuag Paj Her, third, WWG.

Serious Poetry: Rachel Lassen, first, MCC; Ryley Maisch, second, RTR and Froya Olson, third, Montevideo.

Serious Prose: Kira Graber, first, Luverne; McKenzie Sommers, second, Pipestone and Anthony McGee, third, Pipestone.

Storytelling: Spencer Schact, first, Luverne; Natalie Cook, second, Adrian and Taylor Kenney, third, Fulda.