Weather Forecast


S-O FFA members collect awards, recognition at chapter's annual banquet

SIBLEY, Iowa -- The highest honor to be presented to an FFA member at the chapter level is the Star Award, and six of them were presented to members of the Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA Chapter Friday night at the group's annual banquet in Sibley.

Kendra Kruger was named Chapter Star in Agribusiness, while Drew Heemstra and Caleb Wagenaar were presented Chapter Star Farmer honors. Kaitlin Michelson earned the Chapter Star in Agri-Science, while Rachel Wolfswinkel and Colton Nasers were named Chapter Stars in Agriculture Placement.

The honors were among a long list of awards and recognition Friday night, given not only to FFA members, but to adults who have helped the chapter along the way.

Star Greenhand awards went to Joanna Kruger and Dylan Brockshus, while outstanding freshman leaders Evan Henningson and Dillon Thies were also recognized. Zach Sik and James Gradert earned awards for their outstanding freshman SAE projects. Dalton Vickery received the freshman community service award.

The Honorary Chapter FFA Degree was presented to Todd Ackerman. Certificates of appreciation were given to local Pioneer Seed dealers Kelly Monier, Steve Swenson and Dan Lonneman.

Additional honors presented include:

Creed speaking: Kristen Witt.

Public speaking: Madison Fisher. FFA Blue & Gold award: Bret Korthals and Wade Howard. FFA Attitude Award: Nate Carlson and Christopher De Noble. Freshman Achievement: Kelsey Doorenbos and Kristen Witt. FFA Eagle award: Michael Langdeaux. Agriculture Communication award: David Willemssen. Chapter Service award: Kim Jacobsma. Academic Excellence award: Jacob Laverman and Jordan Loerts.

Dekalb Leadership award: Maggie Dykstra.

Special service award: Don and Marylou Ahrends.

Distinguished service award: The Alexander family.

A number of scholarships were presented during the evening. The S-O FFA Chapter scholarship winners ($200) were Maggie Dykstra, Caleb Wagenaar and Drew Heemstra. The John Van Westen Memorial Scholarship ($200) was given to Jordan Loerts. Friends of the FFA scholarship ($200) winners included Kim Jacobsma, Kaitlin Michelson, Aaron De Boer and David Willemssen.

Proficiency award winners are as follows:

Agricultural communications entrepreneurship/ placement: David Willemssen and Madison Fisher. Agricultural mechanics repair and maintenance placement: Patrick Alexander and Brandon Manitz. Small engine maintenance and care, entrepreneurship: Michael Langdeaux. Agriculture mechanics energy systems entrepreneurship/placement: Christopher De Noble. Agriculture mechanics: Brady Blochowitz. Metal Fabrication: Cody Van Engen. Auto Body Repair: Drew Heemstra. Automobile repair and restoration: Cole Hieronimus. Automobile repair and detailing: Kelby Jenssen. Truck maintenance and service: Nic Petersen. Placement in general construction: Landon Howard. Building construction: Tyler Bremer. Building restoration and construction: Carson Gradert. Agricultural processing, entrepreneurship/placement: Nate Carlson. Agricultural services, entrepreneurship/placement: Maggie Dykstra. Ag sales & service: Kendra Kruger. Small business operation & management: Joanna Kruger. Proficiency in customer service: Jessica Ackerman. Retail sales: Allison Ackerman. Beef production, entrepreneurship: James Gradert; placement: David Willemssen; beef herd management and care: William Rockman. Dairy production, placement: Dylan Brockshus; dairy care & management: Steven Brockshus. Diversified crop production, placement: Eric Zylstra. Diversified livestock production, entrepreneurship: Marshall Eddy placement: Isaac Butler and Brady Anderson. Feeder livestock production, placement: Brad Alexander; entrepreneurship: Allison Helmers. Livestock production in agriculture: Breanna Gradert. Placement in production agriculture: Jacob Laverman. Livestock care and management: Kaitlin Michelson. Livestock handling and care: Tyler Fox. Confinement livestock care and management: Dillon Thies. Emerging agricultural technology, entrepreneurship/ placement: Kristin Rollins. Equine science, entrepreneurship: Katie Andrews; equine training: Annie Zylstra; equine training and exhibition: Mandy Gradert; equine training and grooming: Chelsey Taylor. Food science and technology, entrepreneurship/placement: Bret Korthals. Food service: Kelly Schoneman. Food preparation/service and management: Madison Fisher. Food service/customer relations: Megan Fisher. Grain production, placement: Jordan Loerts. Crop production: Taylor Block. Placement in production agriculture: Caleb Hartwig and Wade Howard. Diversified farm labor: Tyler O'Connor. Home/Community development, entrepreneurship/ placement: Tucker Boone. Community Service: Alyssa Hibbing. Proficiency in nursing home care: Marisa Ramos. Landscape management: Megan Jurgens. Organic agriculture award: Kevin Berkland. Outdoor recreation, entrepreneurship/placement: Jessica Nasers. Sports and recreation: Dalton Vickery. Recreation: Kelsey Doorenbos. Dance choreography: Nicole Rozeboom.

Childcare: Amber Julius Amanda Chinn, Zady Cook Shelby Huisenga and Shea Van Surksum.

Sheep production, entre preneurship: Jenny Travaille and Zach Sik.

Sheep production, man agement and care: Josh Earll

Small animal production and care, entrepreneurship Bridget Block.

Specialty animal produc tion, entrepreneurship/place ment: Kristin Witt.

Swine production, entrepre neurship: Austin Schaa placement: Caleb Wagenaar and Rachel Wolfswinkel management and care Colton Nasers and Danielle Claus; care and exhibition Amanda Jo Nasers; custom swine feeding: Derek Acker man and A.J. Weg.

Confinement building man agement and care: Clint Klaassen and Nuvia Gamez.

Turf grass management entrepreneurship: Bryan Clark; placement: Aaron De Boer. Lawn care and management: Kim Jacobsma and Troy Schmidt. Small business operation: Evan Henningson. Vegetable production: Patrick Coleman. Agri-entrepreneurship award: Kelsey Lonneman.

Julie Buntjer

Julie Buntjer joined the Globe newsroom in December 2003, after working more than nine years for weekly newspapers. A native of Worthington, she has a bachelor's degree in agriculture journalism. Find more of her stories of farm life, family and various other tidbits at

(507) 376-7330