Weather Forecast


Education Briefs: May 29, 2010

Worthington woman awarded scholarship

WORTHINGTON -- Victoria Blanchette, Worthington, is the recipient of a $500 Maverick Scholarship from Minnesota State University, Mankato for the 2010-2011 academic school year.

AHS students receive scholarships

ADRIAN -- Emily Lyons, Adrian, and Carmen Wieneke, Lismore, both seniors at Adrian High School, are the recipients of this year's $1,000 Nobles County Bankers Association Scholarship Awards.

Lyons plans to major in psychology at Minnesota State University, Moorhead. Wieneke plans to major in science.

Recipients are selected based on grade point average, participation in extracurricular activities and community involvement.

Iowa promotes college savings

DES MOINES, Iowa -- State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald is asking Iowans to observe "College Savings Day" today by exploring the benefits of using a 529 plan, such as College Savings Iowa, to save for future higher education expenses.

Visit or call 1888-672-9116 for more information.

Area students get federated awards

JACKSON -- The Federated Rural Electric Trust has awarded scholarships to several area students.

Receiving a $600 scholarship are Philip A. Symens, Heron Lake, Windom Area High School, son of Gale and Patricia; Austan Erickson, Lakefield, Jackson County Central High School, son of Rich and Tammy; and Laura Temme, Windom, Windom Area High School, daughter of Brian.

Federated is a Touchstone Energy cooperative that provides electric service to more than 5,000 members in Jackson and Martin counties.

Worthington native earns teaching award

MINNEAPOLIS -- Niel Willardson, the son of Bob and Margaret Willardson of Worthington, received a Stanley Kinyon Teacher of the Year award on May 18 from the University of Minnesota.

Willardson, who is senior vice president and general counsel at the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, has served as an adjunct professor for the law school for 14 years.

The Kinyon teaching awards honor law school professors who show excellence in teaching across several categories.

Willardson was the inaugural recipient of the Adjunct Teacher of the Year award.

Rushmore man awarded scholarship

MOORHEAD --Adam Heidebrink, Rushmore, is the recipient of an Upperclass Scholarship from Minnesota State University, Moorhead.

The scholarship is available to students pursuing their first undergraduate degree who have completed at least 12 semester credits by the end of the fall semester with a grade point average of 3.25 or higher.

Heidebrink is the son of Stan and Renee Heidebrink and a graduate of Worthington High School.

RL-B awards ceremony is Thursday

ROUND LAKE -- Students from Round Lake-Brewster will be recognized for their accomplishments during the 2009-2010 school year at 9:15 a.m. Thursday in the Round Lake-Brewster High School gymnasium, Round Lake.

Academic achievement awards, senior scholarships, Minnesota State High School League Spotlight on Scholarship, American Legion Citizenship Awards, and Students of the Semester are among awards being presented.

The event is open to the public.

Manufacturing programs redesigned

SHELDON, Iowa -- Three redesigned programs have been developed within the manufacturing department at Northwest Iowa Community College. The programs are: Manufacturing Technology, formally known as General Machining; Engineering Design, formally known as Engineering Drafting/CAD; and Design Technology, formally known as Computerized Manufacturing Technology.

Call 1-800-352-4907 for more information.

S-O graduate earns Hixson award

SIBLEY, Iowa -- Sarah K. Haack, a 2010 graduate of Sibley-Ocheyedan High School, is the recipient of the Hixson Opportunity Award for Osceola County from Iowa State University.

The Hixson Opportunity Award is a half-tuition scholarship offered annually to 100 Iowa students.