Weather Forecast


Vote once a day until Oct. 20th on who will be "The Globe's Best of 2018"

Prep football: Three Trojans named All-South Central

Worthington Trojan seniors Tyler Linder, Nathan Boneschans and Marcos Herrera were chosen for the 2017 All-South Central Red Sub-District high school football team. Two other Trojans, seniors Mason Byrne and Obang Olulo, were given honorable mentions.

Linder, a tight end/defensive end, had 21 receptions for 343 yards and three touchdowns in his senior year, and on defense he led the Trojans in sacks and fumble recoveries. Boneschans was a three-year starter at right tackle who also was a fine punter. Herrera, a linebacker, led WHS in tackles for losses in 2017 and was a solid lead blocker as a running back on offense.

All three sub-district teams were released on Tuesday. Marshall had six players named on the Red team. Maple River and Sibley East landed six players apiece on the Blue team. The White Sub-District, which includes most of the teams in The Globe coverage area, was highlighted by Pipestone Area and Redwood Valley, which had six players each on the squad.

Here is the White Sub-District team, listed according to school with grades in parentheses:

Blue Earth Area -- Jacob Vaske (12), Jordan Huse (12), Rylee McGuire (12), Trevor Oppedal (12)

Jackson County Central -- Ethan Lindley (12), Jacob Tvinnereim (12), Dylan Svoboda (12), Preston Mix (12)

Luverne -- Declan Beers (12), Tyler Reisdorfer (12), Payne Bonnett (11), Charlie Reisch (11)

Martin County West -- Thai Risk (11), Aaron Burmeister (12)

Pipestone Area -- Matt Enger (11), Braeden Rieck (11), Cody Thompson (11), Garrett Ploeger (12), Tyl Woelber (12), Chris Najera (11)

Redwood Valley -- Logan Josephson (12), Mitch Irlbeck (12), Corbin Wabasha (11), Travis Rebstock (12), Cole Woodford (11), Thomas Amberg (12)

St. James Area -- Austin Durheim (12), Jacob Brey (11)

Windom Area -- Alex Borsgard (11), Wyatt Minion (12), Luke Gilbertson (12)

Honorable mention -- Caelan Sanders (10) and Joe Schavey (12) of Blue Earth Area; Zach Poelaert (12) and Damien VanWesten (12) of Jackson County Central; Nathan Nekali (10) and Max Skattum (11); Logan Ebeling (12) and Colby Williamson (12) of Martin County West; Jamison VanderWal (12) and Jordan Baatz (12) of Pipestone Area; Spencer Quast (12) and Chad Maddock (10) of Redwood Valley; Parker Jones (11) of St. James Area; Dalton Smith (12) and Kadon Elder (12) of Windom Area