Weather Forecast


USMTS makes stop at NCSI

WORTHINGTON -- The U.S. Modified Touring Series made a visit to Nobles County Speedway on Sunday night, and the No. 20 car driven by Rodney Sanders came away a winner.

Sanders, a 21-year-old from Happy, Texas, captured the USMTS Casey's General Stores National Tour powered by Swan Energy main event at Worthington speedway, passing Ryan Gustin (19r) late to come out on top.

Gustin, ranked second in the national standings as of Monday, was aiming for his 14th triumph of the season and appeared in perfect position to do so as he led the 40-lap WIX Filters "A" Main with just five laps remaining. Sanders, however, found the fast lane around the bottom of the racing surface and edged in front of Gustin as the as the duo came around to complete lap 36.

Sanders was able to expand his advantage as they headed down the back stretch, and the driver known as "The Rocket" went on to collect the win and the $2,000 winners' share of prize money.

Jason Krohn (7k) of Slayton, the 2007 USMTS National Champion, came home in the third position, while polesitter Al Hejna (7) of Clear Lake, Iowa, was fourth.

Bumper Jones (111) made his first appearance with the USMTS road warriors in nearly two months and led the first six laps of the main event before eventually settling for fifth. Jon Tesch (14) of Watertown, S.D., posted a sixth-place finish and earned the Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award for passing 13 of his fellow competitors in the feature race.

Zack VanderBeek (33z) secured the seventh spot, Nate Wasmund (52w) was eighth, Eric Dailey (7) ninth and Jason Grimes (99) 10th. With his eighth top-10 finish in eight starts in the Farm Boy BBQ Sauce Great Plains Region, Grimes took over the top spot in the battle for the 2011 USMTS Rookie of the Year Award.

Kelly Shryock (3), who placed 11th, maintained his spot atop the Farm Boy BBQ Sauce Great Plains Region points standings with a 20-point advantage over Gustin (701 to 681).

More information on the USMTS can be read by visiting

Also paying a visit to a busy Nobles County Speedway Sunday were U.S. Racing Association drivers. Mitch Hovden (15) of Decorah, Iowa, was the winner among stock cars, while Nick Johanssen of Russell was the victor in the B-Mods.

In other Worthington racing action Sunday:


Joey Streeter broke out front and Todd Uhl later slid past Elray Sybesma as they went green-white-checkered, Streeter held on to take the win, and Uhl -- going extremely high coming out of corner three -- took second and Sybesma third.

Hobby Stock

Eric Gaul, Brandon Bullerman, Brad Halbur, Dan Strandberg, and Jerry Groenwold brought the field around to take the green. Gaul jumped out to the early lead, with Justin Luinenburg making his way past Groenwold and Bullerman and moving into fourth.

Strandberg grabbed the lead from Gaul as they worked to the halfway mark. Malik Sampson would spin and roll coming out of corner four, bringing out the red flag. Going back green, Standberg continued to lead with Halbur, Luinenburg, Cory Probst and Jeremy VanEde staying close behind.

Chad Lonneman and Gaul later got together, bringing out the caution. As they went green, Strandberg was out front with Luinenburg on the high side and Halbur on the bottom. Strandberg spun coming out of corner four to bring out the caution. Luinenburg moved up, and Halbur and VanEde stayed close behind as they went down the back stretch.

Luinenburg and VanEde would go side by side all the way to the checkered flag, with VanEde taking the win in a photo finish over Luinenburg. Halbur was third, Probst fourth and Groenwold fifth.

Point standings (through June 5): USRA Modifieds -- 1. Rodney Sanders (20) 187; 2. Mike Steensma (10) 186; 3. Brandon Aggen (01) 184; 4. Jason Briese (3) 168. USRA Stockcars -- 1. Luke Sathoff (5X) 195; 2. Dustin Larson (5L) 191; 3. Jim Larson (6L) 175; 4. Brad Klaassen (45K) 174; 5. Todd Staley (14) 162. USRA B-Mods: 1. Dan Ahlers (42) 181; 2. Brady Joynt (1and) 174; 3. Jason Fisher (14) 172; 4. Steve Bents (15B) 171; 5. Jason Andrews (03Z) 171. USRA Hobby Stocks: Shane Klaassen (901) 184; 2. Chad Lonnerman (17L) 182; 3. Jeremy VanEde (00X) 181; 4. Justin Luinenburg (17) 172; 5. Cory Probst (75C) 169. NCSI Sportsman -- 1. Todd Uhl (11T) 200; 2. Elray Sybesma (91) 182 and Joey Streeter (55S) 182; 4. Kenny Johnson (MST1) 95. NCSI Microsprints -- 1. Brandon Buyss (1) 100; 2. Tim Hottenbacher (32T) 95; 3. Shane Fick (4) 81; 4. Ryan Schur (87) 21; 5. Dan Dayscher (6) 84.