Weather Forecast


NCSI races on hot night

Ryan Mcgaughey/Daily GLobe A trio of mini sprints make a turn during Sunday night's racing at Nobles County Speedway in Worthington.

WORTHINGTON -- The heat was on at the Nobles County Speedway, with the warm temperature outside and great racing action sponsored by Graham Tire of Worthington.


Todd Uhl and Kenny Johnson raced side by side for the lead as they went green, with Uhl pulling ahead and Johnson settling into second. Elray Sybesma raced third and Joey Streeter fourth.

Streeter later had car trouble and pulled in. Johnson would get loose on the front stretch, and Sybesma tried to make his way past. Uhl went on to emerge with the winl Johnson held on to second place and Sybesma was third.

Hobby Stock

Tyler Pospisil and Jeremy Van Ede brought the field taround to take the green. Van Ede took the lead, while Dan Strandberg took the high side to move into second, Shane Klaassen, also on the high side, grabbed third.

Van Ede, Strandberg and Klaassen would go three- wide for the lead. Strandberg fell back, and Van Ede and Klaassen did battle before Klaassen -- on the bottom -- made his way his rival for the lead. Jerry Groenwold and Malik Sampson went side by side for third and fourth as Van Ede dropped back. Justin Luinenburg would soon hit a barrel, bringing out the caution.

The top five as they went back green were Klaassen, Strandberg, Groenwold, Pospisil and Cory Probst. John Ross later lost his hood, bringing out the caution once again.

With Klaassen still out front Strandberg looked to make a move from the bottom, but Klaassen fought him off. Groenwold was third, Probst fourth and Brad Halbur fifth when Eric Gaul spu coming out of corner two, bringing out the caution.

Going back green with just three laps left, Strandberg fell back, Klaassen went on to get the win, Groenwold was second and Probst third. Van Ede took fourth and Strandberg fifth.


Kris Wilke and Wade Huisman brought the cars around to take the green. Shane Fick, on the move, took the top spot. Fick, Wilke, Derek Steen, Brandon Buyss and Ryan Schuur were racing first through fifth when Curt Schuur had car trouble, bringing out the caution.

As they went back green, Tim Hottenbacher got past Buyss and Schuur. Steen, also on the move, gots around Wilke for second. Wilke and Hottenbacher would later experience car trouble nearing the white flag, forcing both to pull off.

Fick went on to earn the win, and Buyss place second. Huisman was third, Steen fourth and Schuur fifth.


Collen DeRuyer and Ray Bertrand brought the field taround to take the green, with DeRuyer out front. Dan Ahlers moved into second, leaving Bertrand to try and fend off Steve Bents for third. Bents quickly moved past, sending Bertrand to fourth while Jason Fisher was settled in fifth.

As Fisher worked to get under Bertrand, the caution would come out for parts on the track. Going back green, DeRuyer was still out front. Ahlers and Bents went side by side for second, with Ahlers pulling ahead on the front stretch. Mark DeBoer later got around Bertrand for fifth. Fisher, looking on the inside of Bents, got past, but Bents went back under and took back third.

Coming to the white flag, Ahlers pulled to the bottom trying to get around DeRuyter. The two would go side by side down the back stretch and coming out of corner four for the checkered, with Ahlers edging his foe for the victory. Bents was third, Fisher fourth and DeBoer fifth.

Stock Car

Luke Sathoff, on the pole, had his work cut out for him with the Larson trio starting next to him and right behind him. As they went green Sathoff got out front, and Jim, Dustin and Jeffery Larson went three wide for second. Dustin, taking second, was looking to get to the inside of Sathoff when Corey Groenwold spun to bring out the caution.

Sathoff maintained the lead with Dustin and Jim trying to hold off Jeffery. Jim and Jeffery, on the bottom, later moved past Dustin. Jim would race in the second spot and Dustin and Jeffery race side by side for third before Jim got a little loose coming out of corner three, causing Dustin to check up and spin.

Sathoff went on to get the win, and Jim Larson was second. Jeffery Larson was third, Trent Schroeder fourth and Rich Gregoire fifth.


Justin Anderson was out front when they went green with Jason Briese, Don Gerritsen Jr. and Dwaine Hanson behind. Gerritsen got past Briese to take second and Briese (on the outside) and Hanson (on the bottom) would race side by side, but Briese would hold him off.

In a caution-free race, Anderson went on to pick up the win. Gerritsen was second, Briese third and Hanson fourth.

Point standings through July 3: Sportsman -- Todd Uhl (11T) 590; Joey Streeter (55S) 568; Elray Sybesma (91) 538; Kenny Johnson (MST1) 368. Hobby Stock -- Jeremy VanEde (00X) 527; Cory Probst (75C) 519; Justin Luinenburg (17) 516; Chad Lonnerman (17L) 513; Jerry Groenwold (58) 495. Mini-Sprints: Brandon Buyss (1) 367; Tim Hottenbacher (32T) 359; Shane Fick (4) 351; Ryan Schuur (21) 344; Derek Steen (22S) 333. B-Mods: Dan Ahlers (42) 551; Jason Fisher (14) 517; Brady Joynt (1and) 514; Steve Bents (15B) 510; Ray Bertrand (72) 505. Stock Cars: Dustin Larson (5L) 552; Jim Larson (6L) 518; Rich Gregoire (32X) 488; Cory Groenwold (59) 460; Luke Sathiff (5x) 459. Modifieds: Justin Anderson (07) 520; Don Gerritsen Jr. (27) 511; Jason Briese (3) 498; Dwaine Hanson (1A) 442; Brandon Aggen (01) 365.