Weather Forecast


Perfect racing weather Sunday at Nobles County Speedway

WORTHINGTON -- There was great racing in all classes Sunday night at the Nobles County Speedway in all classes, with the weather perfect and Pizza Ranch sponsoring the action.

With the season winding down within the next month, there's plenty of upcoming events in store: the Nobles County Fair Race Aug. 14; USMTS, Ironman Stock Car and B-Mods on Aug. 21; and the Worthington Nationals on Aug. 27-28.


Elray Sybesma and Todd Uhl brought the field around to take the green. As they went side by side, Kenny Johnson moved into the middle to make it three-wide racing. Johnson took the lead with Uhl second, Sybesma third, Joey Streeter fouth and Nick Ober rounding out the top five.

Sybesma would soon go into the corner hard and spin, bringing out the caution, Johnson experienced car trouble and mades his way to the work area, winding up in the back of the pack as they went back green. Uhl moved out front and Streeter -- on the bottom -- worked his way up to race side by side with Uhl.

At the white flag, Uhl got loose and Streeter took the lead. Streeter went on to get the win with Sybesma second, Ober third, Uhl fourth and Dusty Seachris fifth.


Justin Luinenburg and Jerry Groenwold were in the front row as the competitors took the green flag, Luinenburg jumped out front with Groenwold, Chad Lonnerman and Dan Strandberg battling right from the start for the second spot. John Ross had car trouble and came to a stop on the high side, bringing out the caution.

Luinenburg, Groenwold, Lonnerman, Strandberg and Cory Posts represented the top five on the restart. Coming out of corner four, Malik Sampson and Jeremy Van Ede cut down under the barrels to result in another caution flag. Going back green Luinenburg was out front with Groenwold, Lonnerman and Strandberg going three- wide in a battle for second. Strandberg would fall back as Shane Klaassen made his way into the top five as the caution coming out once again.

Lonnerman moved into second as Groenwold and Klaassen racing side by side for third. Strandberg would soon get a flat tire on the back stretch, bringing out the caution.

Going green, Luinenburg was still out front. Lonnerman tred to hold second, but Klaassen got around him, Groenwold fell back to fourth with Sampson (on the bottom) and Van Ede (on the high side) moving into the top five. As they came to the white flag, Luinenburg was still out front, but Klaassen dropped down on the inside of Luinenburg near corner four and the two drag-raced down the front stretch with a photo finish. Klaassen was awarded the win with Luinenburg second, Sampson third, Van Ede fourth and Lonnerman fifth.


As they went green, Kris Wilke and Ryan Schuur got out front and Schuur jumped into the top spot. Brandon Buyss would move into second, Wade Huisman was third, Wilke back in fourth and Zach Drahota rounds fifth.

As they raced to the white flag Buyss, Drahota and Wilke would go three wide to the finish. Schuur took the win, Buyss placed second, Drahota was third, Wilke fourth and Shane Fick fifth.


Cars spun and a pileup resulted shortly after the green flag, bringing out the caution. With a complete restart, Nick Johanson and Ray Bertrand brought the drivers around to take the green. As they came down the front stretch Johanson, Bertrand and Dan Ahlers would go three wide with Johanson out front. Bertrand was second, Josh Bonnstetter in third and Ahlers fourth when Bonstetter got loose, bringing out a second caution.

Johnanson, Brady Joynt, Bertrand, Steve Bents and Jason Fisher were the top five going back green. Bertrand, Bents and Fisher would go three wide as Mark DeBoer spun, bringing out another caution. Going back green Bents moved into second, Fisher was third, Joynt fourth and Bertrand fifth. Collen DeRuyter moved up to take fifth as Ahlers, with car trouble, brought out the caution.

With laps running out, Bents tried to get around Johanson. Johanson, though, held on to take the win, with Bents second and Joynt third. Fisher finished fourth and Jason Andrews fifth.

Street stock

Luke Sathoff and Cory Groenwold brought the field around to take the green flag. Sathoff got out front and Jim Larson, Dustin Larson and Rich Gregoire all moved past Groenwold. Dustin, on the high side, worked to get around Jim, but Jim would fight him off. Ricky Prins, also on the move, tried to make his way past Groenwold for fifth.

Dustin, moving to the bottom, got past Jim for second, and Prins mades his way past Groenwold to round out the top five. Sathoff and Dustin would go side by side for the lead, with Dustin eventually grabbing the top spot. Prins then spun, and Groenwold and Mark Matson both went around when Sathoff spun, bringing out the caution.

As they went back green Sathoff worked his way past Prins, Matson and Groenwold into the top five. At the checkered Dustin got the win with Gregoire second, Sathoff third, Groenwold fourth and Matson fifth.

Point standings (not including Sunday's results):

Modifieds: Justin Anderson (07) 620, Don Gerritsen Jr. (27) 606; Jason Briese (3) 589, Dwaine Hanson (1A) 529; Warren Vanwesten (25) 362. Stockcars: Dustin Larson (5L) 630; Jim Larson (6L) 613; Luke Sathoff (5X) 559; Rich Gregoire (32X) 543; Cory Groenwold (59) 536. B-Mods: Dan Ahlers (42) 651; Steve Bents (15B) 601; Brady Joyndt (1and) 588; Ray Bertrand (72) 586; Collen DeRuyter (7) 578. Hobby stocks: Jeremy Van Ede (00x) 614; Cory Probst (75C) 610; Justin Luinenburg (17) 594; Jerry Groenwold (58) 590; Dan Strandberg (3K) 569. Sportsman: Todd Uhl (11T) 690; Joey Streeter (55S) 655; Elray Sybesma (91) 629; Kenny Johnson (MST1) 463. Mini-sprints: Brandon Buyss (1) 462; Shane Fick (4) 451; Tim Hottenbachert (32T) 431; Ryan Schuur (21) 428; Derek Steen (22S) 420.

On the Net: