Weather Forecast


Honors granted in Southwest, Southern Confederacy conferences

MARSHALL -- Five area girls tennis players and seven area volleyball players have been recently named to the Southwest Conference All-Conference team.

In girls tennis, senior Kaitlin Wohnoutka, junior Paige Adams and sophomore Kynzie Smedsrud were named to the all-conference team from Luverne, while Pipestone Area senior Abby Schmidt and Worthington senior Kate Lesnar were also named to the team.

In volleyball, Jackson County Central had three seniors named to the all-conference first team with Michelle VanEpps, Lydia Brandt and Jasmine Erickson.

Pipestone Area's Amanda Haupert was named to the first team along with Holly Larson and Hali Tasler from Windom Area. Junior Brooke Henning represented Worthington on the first team.

Receiving honorable mentions were JCC's Kaylee Burmeister, Luverne's Ellen Dahl, Pipestone Area's Taylor Kruisselbrink, Windom Area's Jasmine Carlson and Worthington's Tara Svalland.

Gridiron players receive SCFC All-West recognition

WESTBROOK -- After a strong season, the Southern Confederacy Football Conference's All-West Division team has been recently announced.

Offensive Player of the Year went to Dalton Bass of Hills-Beaver Creek, while Austin Mertens of Edgerton/Ellsworth was named Lineman of the Year. Defensive Player of the Year was Derek Voge of E/E, while Coach of the Year was H-BC's Rex Metzger.

The West Division regular season champion Hills-Beaver Creak Patriots had five players named to the all-division team in Bass, Jeff Sandbulte, Tate Bork, Jeff Nelson and Dylan Gehrke. Blake Jouwstra, Mertens, Isaac Heard and Voge of the division runner-up Edgerton/Ellsworth Flying Dutchmen made it onto the list of all-division players for their stellar play this season.

The third place Mountain Lake Area Wolverines saw four of their players end up on the all-division team in Andrew Hempeck, Carter Kirk, Josh Grev and Ryan Klassen. Dana Madson, Levi Bunting and Andrew Merrick from the Westbrook-Walnut Grove Chargers also made the all-division list.

The Fulda Raiders had two players land on the all-division team in Zach Holt and Trevor Ruesch, while Kurt Schmitz of the Southwestern United Wildcats also made the all-division team.

Honorable mention was given to H-BC's Bill Horsman and Zach Wagenaar; E/E's Derek Claar and Austine LaFollette; MLA's Vince Johnson and Josiah Stoesz; W-WG's Shane Buchman and Aaron Hass; Fulda's Todd Peterson and John Getting; and SWU's Erik Jass and Justin Jass.