Weather Forecast


PREP WRESTLING: Jackson Central finishes second during Blue Earth Invitational

BLUE EARTH -- Jackson County Central captured three weight classes and placed 10 wrestlers in the finals to finish second at The Dick Maher Invitational on Saturday.

Brainerd won the team title with 186 points, followed by JCC with 161½ points. Worthington, which won two weight classes and had eight finalists, scored 109 points to place fifth among 11 teams.

The Huskies' champions included Jordan Biehn with a 17-6 major decision at 126 pounds; Cameron Henning with a 12-5 decision at 132; and Eliot Jurries with a 9-3 decision at 138.

Other placers for JCC included Dalton Wagner (third at 106), Ryker VanderWoude (fifth at 113), Kyle Edlin (third at 120), Dylan Riggle (fifth-place tie at 145 on a double forfeit), Nate Guggisberg (sixth at 182), John Marker (fifth at 220) and Jack Ziemer.

Champions for the Trojans were Anthony Luft, with a 4-1 decision at 120, and Zach Kempema, with a 6-4 decision in overtime at 170.

Other placers for Worthington were Hser Eh Pwae (fourth at 106), Vince Riley (fifth at 138), Blake Schroeder (fifth at 182), Carson Hagen (second at 195), Joe Pavelko (fourth at 220) and Peter Abraham (fifth at 285).

Top of the Rock


DELL RAPIDS, S.D. -- Adrian advanced 12 wrestlers to the final round as the Dragons won the Top of the Rock Tournament on Saturday.

Skylar Hieronimus (106) and Adam Garms (285) won their weight classes for Adrian. Hieronimus won his title with a pinfall in 2 minutes, 38 seconds. Garms also pinned for his title in 1:37.

Hunter Heitkamp (138), Ben Mulder (145), Jesse Slater (170) and Ben Taracena (182) were all runners-up for the Dragons.

Other Adrian placers included Logan Nelson (third at 120), Michael Pruess (third at 126), Nate Loosbrock (third at 132), Justin Elias (third at 160), Tony Sieve (third at 195) and Andy McCann (fourth at 220).

Flandreau Booster

Club Tournament

FLANDREAU, S.D. -- Pipestone Area crushed the competition during the 40th Flandreau Booster Club Tournament on Saturday.

The Arrows had 11 wrestlers qualify for championship matches with four grapplers winning weight class titles.

Pipestone Area accumulated 219 points to claim the team title, was followed by Howard, S.D., which was the runner-up with 151 points. Luverne, which had four wrestlers in the finals, placed fifth after scoring 77 points.

Titlists for the Arrows were Garrett Ploeger, with a 4-3 decision at 106; Cole Nordmeyer, with a 12-9 decision at 132; Brady Bos, the MVP of the tournament, with a 4-2 decision at 152; and Allan Hachmann, who won by injury default at 160.

Seven more Pipestone Area wrestlers were runners-up. They included Michael Suda (113), Jacoby Hunt (120), Jake Haubrich (126), Alex Ossefoort (138), Walker Kor (145), Blake Wolters (220) and Sy Stangeland (285).

Jared Hillard (third at 195) and Cole Staples (fourth at 182) also placed for Pipestone Area.

Cody Hess (126) captured the only title for Luverne, which had third-place efforts from Spencer Oeltjenbruns (170) and fourth-place performances from Will Natte (113) and Zach Gillette (160).

Glencoe-Silver Lake/

Lester Prairie Invite

GLENCOE -- Hunter Quiring and Vince Johnson won weight-class titles as the Windom/Mountain Lake Cobras placed third Saturday at the Glencoe-Silver Lake/Lester Prairie Invitational.

Quiring pinned for his championship at 106 while Johnson captured the championship at 195 by injury default.

In all, W/ML advanced nine grapplers to the final round, which included the top six places.

Joe Fischenich (120) and Jared Willaby (132) both made it to title bouts, but both finished as runners-up for the Cobras. Third-place efforts came from Wyatt Stevens (113), Ben Matter (152) and Jake Junker (170). A fourth-place performance was turned in by Andrew Larson (160).

Other placers for W/ML included Jacob Suess (sixth at 138) and Dakota Thom (sixth at 220).

Okoboji Invitational

OKOBOJI -- Fulda/Murray County Central wrestler Ben Loosbrock was the only champion among area teams at the Okoboji Invitational on Saturday.

Loosbrock (170) pinned two opponents and used a 5-0 decision in the title bout to win his championship.

Fulda/Murray County Central scored 120 points to place sixth in the team standings. Spencer, Iowa, won the team title with 242 points, while Sibley-Ocheyedan placed fourth with 131½ points and Central Lyon/George-Little Rock ended up seventh with 113 points.

The Generals landed 10 wrestlers in the final round. They were Damon Monier (sixth at 120), Kyle Green (fifth at 126), Cole Hieronimus (sixth at 138), Tyler Reck (third at 145), Tyler O'Connor (fourth at 152), Andrew Brockshus (third at 160), Chris De Noble (fourth at 170), Dylan Brockshus (second at 182), Jose Olvera (fourth at 195) and Nic Salinas (sixth at 220).

The Warriors had eight more wrestlers make the finals. They included Jon Gehl (sixth at 106), Clayton Hartle (second at 113), Ben Blanchette (third at 132), Nathan Beech (fourth at 138), Jordan Clarke (sixth at 145), Tanner Nelson (sixth at 152), Brian Behrends (second at 220) and Arron Benson (fifth at 285).

The Lions advanced eight wrestlers to the final round. They included Treyton Virtue (second at 106), Colby McIntire (second at 120), Tanner Robertson (sixth at 132), Brent Klingenberg (second at 152), Ben Friedrichson (fifth at 160), Andrew McCarty (sixth at 182), Travis Vander Streek (second at 195) and Trenton Enger (fifth at 220).

Mankato West

Duals Invitational

MANKATO -- Red Rock Central/Wabasso began its season with three straight wins during the Mankato West Duals Invitational on Saturday.

The Falcons defeated Byron (40-15), Mankato West (75-3) and St. James (52-19).

More information about this tournament will appear in Tuesday's edition of The Daily Globe sports section.