Weather Forecast


BOYS WRESTLING: Blue Earth Area edges Pipestone Area for tourney title

SHERBURN -- Blue Earth Area edged Pipestone Area 161½-159½ to win the team title at the Fairmont/Martin County West Tournament on Saturday.

Brady Bos (27-5 at 152) was the only champion among 11 Arrows who placed among the top four.

Other Pipestone Area placers were Jacoby Hunt (15-12, third at 126), Alex Ossefoort (28-5, third at 138), Will Smith (22-11, third at 170), Blake Wolters (22-9, third at 220), Jared Nygaard (17-13, third at 285), Garrett Ploeger (23-10, fourth at 106), Cole Nordmeyer (23-8, fourth at 132), Walker Kor (26-7, fourth at 145), Cole Staples (11-18, fourth at 182) and Jared Hillard (16-16, fourth at 195).

Worthington placed sixth in the team standings with 90 points. After Blue Earth Area and Pipestone Area, Minnesota (141) was third, United South Central (129) was fourth), Fairmont/Martin County West (114½) was fifth and Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther (56½) was seventh.

The Trojans claimed to weight-class champions in Anthony Luft (27-1 at 120) and Carsen Hagen (22-5 at 195).

Other Worthington placers were Peter Abraham (10-18, second at 220), Zach Kempema (23-11, third at 160), Hser Moo Pwae (14-18, fourth at 113) and Virgil Cerda (6-7, fourth at 170).

Mike Fasnacht Memorial Tournament

JANESVILLE -- Class 1A, No. 1-ranked Jackson County Central had four champions and two runners-up en route to winning the Mike Fasnacht Memorial Tournament on Saturday.

Elliot Jurries (31-4 at 132), Paden Moore (31-5 at 152), Keegan Moore (24-3 at 160) and Darick Vancura (33-2 at 170) all won their weight classes for the Huskies. Jordan Biehn (26-6 at 120) and Nate Horn (19-16 at 285) both placed second for JCC.

Other Huskies who placed among the top six included Kyle Edlin (24-10, third at 113), Jack Ziemer (14-18, fourth at 220), Ryker VanderWoude (20-15, fifth at 106), Dakota Rossow (4-7, fifth at 120), Cameron Henning (28-7, fifth at 126), Kyle Kapplinger (3-4, fifth at 145), Nate Guggisberg (17-17, fifth at 195) and Travis Beeck (1-4, sixth at 182).

Jackson County Central scored 233 points to win the team championship. The Huskies were followed by Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton (207), Chatfield (203), Owatonna (161), St. Charles (129½), Totino-Grace (118), Northfield (107), Medford (83½), Triton (69) and Saint Clair/Mankato Loyola (58½).

Albert Lea Area 56, Adrian Area 9

ALBERT LEA -- In a dual of state-ranked teams, Albert Lea Area won decisively against Adrian Area on Saturday.

The Class 3A, No. 4-ranked Tigers improved to 18-2 overall, while the Class 2A, No. 7-ranked Dragons fell to 25-3.

Skylar Hieronimus (106) and Jesse Slater (170) were the only Adrian Area wrestlers to win their matches. Hieronimus used a 4-2 decision to defeat Beau Johnsrud. Slater pinned Nick Kromminga in 2:30.

Albert Lea Area won the other 12 weight classes, four of them with pins.

Garrett Wangsness (120), Lucas Hansen (138), Tim Christianson (182) and Matt Nemec (220) all won with pins over Marshall Taylor (1:10), Mitchell Wagner (25 seconds), Andy McCann (5:44) and Quinn Cleveland (4:46), respectively.

Spencer Carstens (152) and Bany Chan (160) both used 12-4 major decision to defeat Justin Elias and Carter VanDyke, respectively.

Dakota Wangsness (126), Devin Nelson (132), Tristan Westerlund (195) and Jacob Kunkel (285) all posted decisions against Jayden Bullerman (5-0), Tony Lynn (3-1), Tony Sieve (7-0) and Adam Garms (7-5), respectively.

Trevor Westerlund (113) and Derek Samudio (145) both won with forfeits.

Wabasso/RRC 68, Benson 9

WABASSO -- Class 1A, No. 4-ranked Wabasso/Red Rock Central meant business during the first period en route to a dual victory against Benson on Saturday.

Eight of the Bobcats' nine pins came during the first period.

Mitchell Fulton (39 seconds) at 106, Spencer Jenniges (3:26) at 113, Josh Altermatt (1:17) at 120, Derek Christians (1:10) at 126, Mitchell Schroepfer (1:40) at 152, Brady Bierl (1:08) at 182, Jordan Schroepfer (1:20) at 195, Brian Hagberg (49 seconds) at 220 and Alex Schroepfer (13 seconds) at 285 all won with pins.

Wabasso/Red Rock Central (21-0 overall) hosts a dual meet against Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/ Westbrook-Walnut Grove at 6 p.m. Tuesday.