Weather Forecast


BOYS' BASKETBALL: 3 Panthers honored on all-RRC team

ELLSWORTH -- Three Ellsworth boys' basketball players highlighted the all-Red Rock Conference team recently announced.

Junior center Trevor Gruis and senior guards Tom Nolte and Adam Van Der Stoep each were honored, along with 17 other players in the league. The trio led the Panthers to a runner-up finish at the Class A tournament this season. It was Ellsworth's fourth consecutive trip.

Adrian and Hills-Beaver Creek each landed three players on the team.

Seniors Brian Tjepkes and Danny Parsley, along with junior Nate Reyne, represented the Dragons, while seniors Halden Van Wyhe and Terence Reid, along with junior Andrew Scholten, made the team from H-BC.

Westbrook-Walnut Grove, Southwest Star Concept and Southwest Christian each had two representatives.

W-WG's Jace Jarmer and Mason Comnick, SSC's Ben Scheevel and William Cranston, and SWC's Zach Huisken and Derek Tinklenberg all made the first team. Huisken, a 6-foot-8 center, was the lone freshman to be honored.

Edgerton's Codi Gunnink, Fulda's Devin Kuehne, Murray County Central's Kyle DeLong, Red Rock Central's Jake Fredrickson, and Round-Lake Brewster's Dillon Hansen also were selected.

The team consisted of 10 seniors, nine juniors and Huisken, a freshman.

Ellsworth's Matt Buntjer and Casey Schilling; Adrian's Justin Wiedert; W-WG's Jon Leboutillier; SSC's Kirk McBreen; SWC's Tyler Van Schepen; Edgerton's Alex Heard; Fulda's Alex Hein and Aaron Leinen; MCC's Mark Bau; Red Rock Central's Tyler Erickson; and ML/B-O's Steven Herrig were honorable mention selections.