Weather Forecast


Sub-Section 1 track: Klassen, Harmening, Rivera, DeCock shine in Windom

WINDOM -- A trio of boys were multiple-event champions Thursday at the Section 3A, Sub-Region 1 (Sub-Section 9) high school track and field meet, highlighting a large group of athletes who qualified to compete at the Section 3A meet at Benson May 30.

The top three finishers in each event automatically advance, along with the next four performances from the four sub-section meets.

Mountain Lake Area's Whitney Klassen impressively won two events as the area's top performer in the girls' meet, helping the Wolverines finish at the top of the team standings.

Jackson County Central, utilizing exceptional balance in all of the events, racked up 197 points to claim first place in the six-team boys' meet, while Windom was second with a score of 147. MLA was third with 126 points, followed by the combination of Springfield, Cedar Mountain and Comfrey (101), Westbrook-Walnut Grove/Red Rock Central (89) and Southwestern United (12).

MLA's girls won six events and accumulated 180½ points. S/CM/C, led by the trio of Viche Rabb, Karliana Kelly and Kylee Wells, was second with 146 points, followed by JCC (125), Windom (117), W-WG/RRC (64½) and SWU (51).

Klassen won both the 800-meter run (2:28.29) and the 1,600 (5:50.45) for the Wolverines, while Carly Paulson finished first in the 100-meter high hurdles (18.27) and Hannah Stoesz won the shot put (31-8½).

MLA claimed gold medals in both the 4x800-meter relay (10:53.60) and the 4x400 (4:18.10). Brianna Soutthivong, Carmen Syverson, Jordan Syverson and Brooke Fast ran the opener and Mikayla Falk, Soutthivong, Klassen and Lydia Hildebrandt finished the meet.

Rabb won both the high jump (4-11) and 400 (1:02.30), Kelly topped the field in both the long jump (15-1) and triple jump (33-2) and Wells finished first in the 100 (13.48) and 200 (13:48).

JCC's Corri Vander Woude won the 300-meter low hurdles (51.73) and SWU seventh-grader Rachel Salentiny claimed the sub-section title in the 3,200-meter run, clocked at 12:06.93.

Windom's Megan Muller won the pole vault (9-8), finished second in the 100 (13.79) and placed third in the 200 (28.06). She also ran a leg on the Eagles' winning 4x100 relay (54.59), being joined by Amy Elston, Kyli Nauman and Amy Muller.

Kelly, Wells and Rabb teamed with Joci Nestande to win the 4x200 (1:51.89) for S/CM/C.

Windom swept the discus, with the trio of Holly Larson (106-7), Gabby Jensen (102-9) and Kori Quiring (86-9) all advancing.

JCC's Jessica Voehl (30-7) and Kenna Bannister (30-½) were second and third in the shot put; Rabb (14-4½) and Soutthivong (14-3) advance in the long jump and W-WG/RRC's Hailey Osland (31-1½), along with MLA's Bridgette Swanson (30-5) qualified in the triple jump.

Voehl (8-2) was second in the pole vault, while Hildebrandt and W-WG/RRC's Chloe Arfsten tied for third (7-8).

Voehl cleared 4-9 and placed second in the high jump, with Arfsten (4-7) also advancing.

On the track, Hildebrandt was second in both the 200 (27.67) and 400 (1:02.60), while Falk (100, third, 14.02), JCC's Annika Lilleberg (800, second, 2:34.40), Carmen Syverson (800, third, 2:34.73), MLA's Liana Blomgren (1,600, second, 5:54.63), Windom's Christianna Green (3,200, 12:10.41), SWU's MaKayla Edwards (3,200, third, 13:00.30) also all qualified to compete at Benson.

Vander Woude (18.47) and W-WG/RRC's Alexa Byers (19.09) were second and third, respectively, in the high hurdles, while MLA's Emily Jahnke advanced with a third in the 300 lows (53.31).

DeCock clears 6-5, leaps

21-9 and 44-2; Rivera,

Harmening each win twice

W-WG/RRC's Jeff DeCock was a triple-event winner, clearing the high jump bar at 6-5, leaping 21-9 in the long jump and soaring 44-2 in the triple jump.

Windom sprinter Michael Rivera won both the 100 (11.69) and 200 (23.53) and teamed with Alex Leopold, Victor Ogeka and Tyler Morgan to win the 4x100 (46.25).

JCC's Jon Harmening claimed gold medals in both hurdle races, winning the 110 highs (17.49) and 300 intermediates (44.93).

MLA runners Slade Harder (10:54.62) and Kyle Blomgren (11:14.29) finished one-two in the 3,200, followed by JCC's Jordan Snyder (11:44.74).

W-WG/RRC's AJ Jongen (4:56.45), MLA's Adam Blomgren (5:01.73) and Windom's Ryan Helmoski (5:08.39) qualified in the 1,600.

MLA's Jose Gonzales won the 800 (2:04.75) and Windom's Clay Elness (2:15.60) placed third.

Chad Kleinschmidt of S/CM/C finished first in the 400 (53.09), followed by JCC's Jason Vongsavanh (53.49) and MLA's Spencer Harder (54.96) in places two and three.

JCC's Jeremy Riggenberg (18.70) and Windom's Aaron Axford (18.74) were a close second and third in the high hurdles, while Axford (45.68) and JCC's Dustin Heiden (48.20) advanced in the 300 intermediates.

MLA's Tyler Friesen won the pole vault (11-0) with Windom's Nicholas Wolter (10-0) and W-WG/RRC's Derek Christians (10-0) placing second and third, respectively.

Windom's Trent Bever claimed top honors in the shot put (46-7½), followed by JCC's Nolan Hohenstein (45-8¼) and Windom's Tyler Morgan (38-2½).

JCC's Austin Bell-Pixler won the discus (134-1), while Hohenstein (127-6) and Morgan (125-6) earned the silver and bronze medals, respectively.

JCC's Darnell Taylor-Breck leaped 42-3 to place second in the triple jump and Ogeka (41-5) was third.

In the long jump, JCC's Warren Darling (19-6½) was second and Okega (19-4½) placed third.

JCC's Ryan Salzwedel (5-11) and MLA's Britton Pankratz (5-9) placed behind DeCock in the high jump.

The JCC team of Bradley Gustafson, Jordan Ringgenberg, Tanner Post and Darling won the 4x800 (9:25.28) and MLA (Cody Klassen, Caleb Bargen,

Spencer Harder and Gonzales) finished the meet with a victory in the 4x400, clocked at 3:39.84.