Weather Forecast


Prep football: MLA players headline All-Conference team in Southern Confederacy

MOUNTAIN LAKE — Five Mountain Lake Area players and four from Edgerton/Ellsworth and Westbrook-Walnut Grove have been named to the Southern Confederacy West Division All-Conference football team for 2013.

Seniors Josh Grev, Andrew Hempeck, Carter Kirk and Vince Johnson and junior Jacob Junker were chosen from the Mountain Lake Area team that posted a 6-0 conference record and advanced to the state tournament. Seniors Austin Mertens, Nate Paulsen and Jorge Lopez and junior Tyler Kurrasch were named from Edgerton/Ellsworth. Westbrook-Walnut Grove players selected were seniors Levi Bunting, Sean McCroskey and Matt Otto and junior Tyler Schoborg.

Kirk was named Offensive Player of the Year. Mertens is the Lineman of the Year. And Grev is the Defensive Player of the Year.

Coach of the Year is Tim Kirk of Mountain Lake Area.

Other players named to the team are (listed by school): Seniors Dylan Gehrke and Caleb Vis and junior Braden Ellingson of Hills-Beaver Creek; seniors Josh Ramerth and Matthew Thier of Fulda; sophomore Hayden Johnson of Renville County West; and junior Dakotah Schmid of Southwestern United.

Honorable mention: Alex Gerdes and Eric Wenner of Mountain Lake Area; Andy Menning and Wyatt Schaap of Edgerton/Ellsworth; Tristan Joel and Logan Weis of Westbrook-Walnut Grove; Jeff Nelson and Carey Taubert of Hills-Beaver Creek; Joey Voss and Brian Fenske of Fulda; Colin Thompson and Ryan Countryman of Renville County West; Skyler Sievert and Jordan Hall of SWU.