Weather Forecast


Prep: SWC’s biggest and best given All-Conference status

MARSHALL — Jackson County Central highlights this fall’s All-Conference and Honorable Mention lists for the Southwest Conference.

The Huskies finished 6-0 in league play this fall on the gridiron and have six players honored on the All-Conference team. Marshall finished second in the final conference standings at 5-1 followed by Luverne (3-3), Worthington (3-3), Pipestone Area (2-4), Redwood Valley (1-5) and Windom Area (1-5).

Matt Schmit, Nolan Hohenstein, Shadrach Wacker, Ryan Brighton, Paden Moore and Keegan Moore were all named to the All-Conference team.

Luverene posted four players to the list, including seniors Logan Norman, Cody Rofshus and Brent Thompson, and junior Andrew Verhey. Marshall’s Tyus DeBoer, Jason Polzin, Brad Bahlmann, Sam Marshall and Drew Hmielewski each were named to the team. Pipestone Area senior Brady Bos and junior Boyer Bouman, Windom Area senior Matt Sykora and Worthington’s Will Dudley, Jessie Guerra and Zach Kempema are all honored.

Cody Ober and Carson Hagen are Honorable Mention for Worthington. Luverne’s Josh Slicter and Kendall Meyer, Marshall’s Hunter Greve and Colin VanKeulen, Pipestone Area’s Donavon Johnson, Redwood Valley’s Cade Johnson and Windom Area’s Bryce Bever round out the football honorable mentions.

In volleyball postseason honors, JCC’s Kaylee Burmeister, Kathryn Nasby and Rachel Johnson are All-Conference honorees. Marshall’s Kenzie Beekman, Hannah Bennett, Sydney Griffin and Callie Graff are on the team with Pipestone Area’s Taylor Kruisselbrink, Redwood Valley’s Lauren Hanson, Windom Area’s Kelsey Hanefeld and Jasmine Carlson. Worthington’s Brooke Henning rounds out the team.

Luverne players Ellen Dahl and Lexi Rust are both Honorable Mention with Marshall’s Rachel Sanow, Pipestone Area’s Kelly Nettik and Megan Redmund, and Windom Area’s Rachel Sorensen.

Marshall finished a spotless 6-0 and JCC finished in second place at 5-1.

Windom Area took third (4-2), followed by Pipestone Area (3-3), Redwood Valley (1-5), Worthington (1-5) and Luverne (1-5).

Marshall went on to win its third straight state title.