Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Iowa wrestlers are hitting the state mats


DES MOINES — Eight area Iowa Class 1A wrestlers will compete for individual glory beginning today (Feb. 20) at the state high school tournament, which runs through Saturday at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Class 1A, which includes both Sibley-Ocheyedan and Central Lyon/George-Little Rock, competes in the evening session today and the afternoon session on Friday.

The Generals have four entrants, including three freshmen and a sophomore.

S-O freshman Dylan Schuck enters the tournament leading his team’s four qualifiers with a 42-9 season record. At 126 pounds, Schuck opens against Audubon junior Brad Kerkhoff (44-6). The winner advances to face the winner of the match featuring Don Bosco junior Cole Fox (30-9) and Southeast Warren junior Jake Hunerdosse (48-3).

At 132 pounds, S-O’s Kyle Green comes into the state tournament at 31-18. His first-round opponent is unbeaten JD Rader (37-0) of South Hamilton, Jewell, and the winner of that match moves on to wrestle either Cody Brown (32-8) of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fairmont or Tucker Bluml (32-15) of Oakland Riverside.

Garrett Sayler will compete for the Generals at 138, and his first match will be with Travis Cole (44-2) of Highland Riverside. That match’s winner will face either Sumner-Fredricksburg’s Karsen Seehase (27-5) or Sigourney-Keota junior Nathan Fritz (37-7).

At 195 pounds, Sibley-Ocheyedan’s Matt Naig (36-13) will meet South Central Calhoun sophomore Rylan Richardson (40-6) in the first round. The winner moves on to face Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont junior Hunter Johnston (37-10) or Exira-EHK senior Trey Sander (42-2).

Colby McIntire leads Central Lyon/G-LR at 33-2 on the season. He opens the tournament with Kaleb Simacek (25-9), a freshman from Manson-Northwest Webster. The winner will next face either Audubon sophomore Jake Mulford (27-7) or Drake Healey (47-5) of Iowa Valley.

At 41-4 on his season, Lions junior Travis VanderStreek (220) will open the state tournament with Witon junior Logan Reddick (38-10). The winner advances to the second round to wrestle either AGWSR junior Clay Meinders (38-1) or Sigourney-Keota senior Tucker Fowler (36-8).

Back at 120 pounds, freshman Mitch Van Beek has fashioned a 34-11 season for himself and will wrestle Ogden senior Shawn Heaning (20-6) in the opening round. The winner faces either Lisbon sophomore Nick Williams (45-5) or Tucker Franklin (23-20) of Alburnett.

CL/G-LR junior 170-pounder Zach Fugit (30-16) will open with Clarinda Academy senior Gavin Gremmel (27-0). The winner of that match will face Wilton senior Koy Snider (41-6) or Jesup sophomore Ryan Even (33-12).

The state championships are scheduled for Saturday evening.