Weather Forecast


Prep sports: Boys basketball and hockey All-SWC teams unveiled

MARSHALL — The Southwest Conference announced its all-conference teams for boys basketball and boys hockey Monday afternoon.

Leading off the all-conference boys basketball team is Jackson County Central senior Jon Harmening, who is a 1,000 point scorer and a 1,000 rebound getter in his career with the Huskies. Luverne’s Josh Sleiter made the list along with Pipestone Area’s Boyer Bouman and Collin Moeller and Worthington’s Spencer Grafing and Marcus Potter. Marshall has Carl Douglas and Riley Sharbono on the team and Redwood Valley has San Pendelton and Taquez Perkins on the team.

Receiving boys basketball honorable mention by the Southwest Conference are JCC’s Zach Schwarting and Darnell Taylor-Breck, Marshall’s Conner Winkelman, Redwood Valley’s Thone Widmer and Windom Area’s Sam Huska.

In boys hockey, all-conference honorees are Luverne’s Kendall Meyer, Logan Norman, Toby Sengvongxay, Chaz Smedsrud and Jaxon Nelson; Marshall has Brent Haukom, Mason Campion and Alex Buysse; Morris-Benson Area has Tanner Gimberlin and Windom Area has Zach Bartosh, Devin Nielsen and Jack Mellstrom.

Receiving honorable mention in boys hockey are Luverne’s Andrew Verhey, Marshall’s Andrew Bell, Morris-Benson Area’s Bo Olson, Redwood Valley’s Jacob Prouty, Windom Area’s Dylan Pigman and Worthington’s Andrew Johnson.