Weather Forecast


Track and field: Scotting leads MCC boys at Pipestone


PIPESTONE — Tyler Scotting won three events Saturday to help his Murray County Central boys track team to victory in the Pipestone Invitational.

Scotting, who placed fourth last June in the state Class A 300-meter intermediate hurdles, won the 100-meter dash in 11.63, the 300-meter intermediates in 43.81 and the shot put in 50-10.75.

Scotting also placed second in the 200-meter race (23.79).

Pipestone Area captured the girls’ portion of the meet.

The MCC boys got another first place from Clayton Hartle, who finished the 3,200-meter race in 11:10.41.

MCC totaled 124.5 points while Lakeview scored 98.5 to finish second in the boys standings. Pipestone Area was third with 94.5 points, followed by Southwest Christian with 86, Hills-Beaver Creek 79.5, Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 51, Fulda 47.5, Adrian 38.5 and Russell-Tyler-Ruthton 17.

The Pipestone Area girls got a first from Claire Femrite in the 400 meters (1:06.73). Teammates Tia Muller in the 100-meter hurdles (17.53) and Maria Spanier in the 300-meter hurdles (49.49) also won individual events. The Arrows’ 4 by 100-meter relay team won in 54.89 (Taylor Schmidt, Alecia Christian, Kendra Ludeman and Kaylee Kirk) and the Arrows’ 4 by 200-meter relay squad of Muller, Becca Griebel, Spanier and Femrite won that event in 1:55.88.

Adrian’s Nicole Slater was a double winner, taking the 1,600-meter race in 5:23.44 and the 3,200 meters in 11:57.26. Murray County Central’s Hannah Schmidt was also a double winner, winning the 100 meters in 13.67 and the long jump in 15-2. Jenna Wilgenburg of Hills-Beaver Creek won the 800 meters in 2:35.9. Fulda’s Nicole Madison won the shot put with a 30-8.5 throw. Kassidy Przymus of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton won the discus at 98-6, and teammate Kendra Ludeman went 4-10 to win the high jump competition.

Dillon Mulske of Southwest Christian won the 800 meters (2:18.07) and the 1,600 meters (4:55.96). Isaiah Vis of Hills-Beaver Creek captured the long jump (19-1) and the triple jump (38-3).

Other boy winners of note: Eli Stevens of Pipestone Area in the 200-meter dash (23.67), Justin Kooiman of Pipestone Area in the 110-meter hurdles (18.11), Matt Thier of Fulda in the discus (126-10), and Zach Scholten of Hills-Beaver Creek in the high jump (5-10).