Weather Forecast


Girls basketball: Sections 3A, 3AA seeds released

Canby and Red Rock Central in Section 3A, and New London-Spicer and Tracy-Milroy-Balaton in Section 3AA earned No. 1 seeds for the upcoming Minnesota high school girls basketball postseason tournaments.

Action in Section 3A begins on Thursday, Feb. 23 with Hendricks (8) hosting Renville County West (9) in the north sub-section, while in the south Murray County Central (8) hosts Ellsworth (9) and Heron Lake-Okabena (7) hosts Westbrook-Walnut Grove (10).

Red Rock Central will open Feb. 25 at 11 a.m. in Worthington against the winner of the MCC-Ellsworth game. Three other games will be played in Worthington on Feb. 25, featuring Adrian (5) vs. Edgerton (4) at 12:30 p.m., Southwest Christian (2) vs. the winner of the HL-O and W-WG game at 2:30 p.m., and Fulda (6) vs. Hills-Beaver Creek (3) at 4 p.m.

The tournament continues until a champion is decided at 8 p.m. March 10 at Southwest Minnesota State University-Marshall.

In Section 3AA, all first-round games will be played Feb. 25 at 7 p.m. In the south sub-section, Tracy-Milroy-Balaton hosts Redwood Valley (8), Martin County West (4) hosts Jackson County Central (5), Pipestone Area (2) hosts Windom Area (7) and Minneota (3) hosts Luverne (6).

In the north, New London-Spicer hosts Benson (8), Montevideo (4) hosts Lakeview (5), Minnewaska Area (2) hosts Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City (7) and Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta (3) hosts Yellow Medicine East (6).

The finals are scheduled for March 10 at 5 p.m. at Southwest Minnesota State University-Marshall.