Weather Forecast


blast from the past

November 28, 2011
Round Lake, led by these five returning senior starters, went 8-0-1 in 1961, finishing in a tie with Ceylon for the Southern Star Conference 8-man football title. Linemen, left to right, were Terry Hanna, Roger Geertsema and Dick Huehn. Quarterback Bob Geertsema and halfback Jerry Scherer are behind Roger Geertsema.
Round Lake, Ceylon share 1961 Southern Star grid title
November 28, 2011 - 12:21am
October 24, 2011
Submitted Photo
Darwin Busselman pitches during a summer amateur baseball game in 1964.
BLAST FROM THE PAST: Rademacher, Haar remembered; Darwin Busselman recognized
October 24, 2011 - 12:00am
September 28, 2011
BLAST FROM THE PAST: What else was happening when Roger Maris hit home run No. 61 in '61?
September 28, 2011 - 11:59pm
August 13, 2011
Submitted Photo
The members of the 1990 Luverne American Legion baseball team pose for a team picture. Pictured are: (front row, left to right) Paul Tweet, Dave Smook and Mark Schoeneman; (middle row, l to r) Jeff Ahrendt, Matt Ossenfort, Troy Buss, Corey Nelson and Mark Lais; (back row, l to r) Coach Nathan Rud, Terry Van Engelenhoven, Matt Gropel, Micky Sehr, Shawn Konz and Coach Brad Ahrendt. Missing from the photo is Coach Roger Ossenfort.
BLAST FROM THE PAST: Remembering the 1990 Luverne Legion team
August 13, 2011 - 12:16am
July 29, 2011
Daily Globe File Photo 
Marshall High School's all-state players from the 1963 MSHSL state basketball tournament (from left) Terry Porter, John Nefstead and Loren Johnson hold the state tournament trophy during a parade in Marshall following the Tigers' 1963 state title.
BLAST FROM THE PAST: 100 years of high school hoops
July 29, 2011 - 12:00am
July 13, 2011
File Photo
Claiming a 6-0 victory over Lismore on Saturday, July 31, 1971, Worthington won the Sub-District 4 baseball championship. Team members were, front row left to right: Keith Riemersma, Frank Little, Bob Espeset, Craig Rogers, Tom Suby and Rich Bruns. Back row, left to right: Kevin Bray, Tom Harens, Denny Hitzemann, Kelly Ingenthron, Rick Van Roeckel and Coach Dan Regnier.
BLAST FROM THE PAST: A look back at the summer of 1971
July 13, 2011 - 11:56pm
July 2, 2011
Submitted photo, courtesy of Westbrook Sentinel archives
Following their Westbrook League championship in 1955, members of the Des Moines River Township "Rats" posed for a team picture.  Front row, from left, Duane Jans, Jim Bloch and Bud Kuehl. Second row, Robert "Buster" Chapman, Don Hanson,, Arliss LaMaack, Lee Bass, Bob Bloch, Vernon Jarmer, Doug Kuehl and Clayton LaMaack. Back row, Kenny Jans, Stanley "Shorty" Jans, LaVerne "Butch" Soll and John Jans. The team played fast-pitch softball through the...
BLAST FROM THE PAST: Des Moines River "Rats" had fun playing fast-pitch softball
July 2, 2011 - 12:00am
June 18, 2011
Spring season capped with success; answers to June 4 quiz
June 18, 2011 - 1:21am
June 4, 2011
BLAST FROM THE PAST: It was the Third of June, 1967
June 4, 2011 - 12:15am
May 28, 2011
BLAST FROM THE PAST: Harmon Killebrew, Judy Haberman each leave lasting impressions
May 28, 2011 - 12:10am
May 5, 2011
The 1990 Faith Christian High School (Bigelow) boys' basketball team won a memorable double overtime game in the District 8 quarterfinals, defeating Southwest Christian, 86-85.
Squad members were, front row, left to right; Steve Dykstra, John Hibma, Tim Bosma, Jon Bosma and Clay Weg. Back row, left to right; Kevin Weg, Todd Vogel, Bryan Voss, Tim Vogel, Rick Henning and Wade Ten Napel. The Falcons were coached by Mike Elgersma.
BLAST FROM THE PAST: Ransom Township dairy-farm kids helps Falcons soar in '90
May 5, 2011 - 12:24am
April 23, 2011
Bob, Carol, Mike, and crossing the Danube -- it's late April
April 23, 2011 - 12:06am
April 15, 2011
BLAST FROM THE PAST: Suman, Schnaible, Kruger enjoy 1986 spring success
April 15, 2011 - 11:11pm
April 1, 2011
Submitted Photo
Heron Lake-Okabena claimed the 1981 Class A state girls' basketball championship with an undefeated 26-0 record. There were seven seniors and seven juniors on the squad. The juniors are in the front row and the seniors are in the back.
Left to right, in the front, are Mary Egge, Deb Kirsch, Pat Burns, Lynette Rients, Cindy Garoutte, Cathy Baumgard and Lois Mathias. In the back are assistant coach Wayne Rasche, Amy Christians, Ruth Henkels, Chris Ferguson, Lori Sontag, Janeen Rasche, Jan...
BLAST FROM THE PAST: HL-O girls cap undefeated season with '81 state title
April 1, 2011 - 1:30am
March 29, 2011
BLAST FROM THE PAST: Springfield gives southwestern Minnesota another state title
March 29, 2011 - 12:00am