Osceola County residents appointed to nominating committee

ISU Extension Logo for Briefs

SIBLEY, Iowa — Four Osceola County residents have been appointed to the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach council nominating committee. The committee is charged with nominating candidates for the five vacancies on the council before Aug. 26.

Committee members selected to nominate extension council candidates for the 2020 election are Dan Berkland, Sibley; Roxanne Hayenga, Sibley; Howard Johnson, Ashton; and Nancy Nasers, Sibley.

By law, the nominating committee must include two women and two men and cannot include any current member of the council. The committee is required to take county geography into consideration when nominating candidates.

Candidates nominated by the committee must submit petitions containing the names of 25 qualified voters to the county election commissioner by 5 p.m. on Aug. 26. Additionally, individuals may petition to have their names placed on the ballot through a self-nominating process by submitting petitions with 25 names to the election commissioner. Petition forms are available from the election commissioner and at the county extension office.

Voters will cast ballots for the nominees in the Nov. 3 general election. Successful candidates will serve four-year terms beginning in January 2021. Four of the open seats on the extension council are for a four-year term and one seat is open for a two-year term, to complete the unexpired term of another member who chose to step down.


ISU Extension and Outreach builds a strong Iowa by engaging all Iowans in research, education, and extension experiences to address current and emerging real-life challenges. Learn more online at .

Related Topics: AGRICULTURE
What To Read Next
Louis and Cyril Keller are the inventors of the Bobcat skid-steer loader and were selected as 2023 inductees into the National Inventors Hall of Fame.
Awards were announced during Friday’s annual FORWARD Worthington Extravaganza at Lerma’s Event Center.
“They’re totally new. They’re sophomores, they’ve never competed in BPA.”
Wednesday’s community input meeting at Worthington High School was the third of four planned by the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office.