WORTHINGTON —The Worthington Area YMCA will host its awards ceremony on Monday, Nov. 25 at the Y. As changed in 2017, this event is now separate from the annual meeting as it was for so many years and will have the sole focus on the recognition of many deserving young people and adults.

The event will begin at 6:15 p.m. and include a light meal. As always, the YMCA will recognize its Volunteer of the Year. The Y staff will also recognize many youths for Hall of Fame Awards that will be given to area youths for their participation in programs in the past year.

Additionally, two youths will be recognized with the Wayne Klumper Sportsmanship Award and one with the Ethel Wigersma Memorial Swim Team Award. For the ninth year, the Y will present Teen Leadership Awards to two teens that have demonstrated excellent leadership this past year. Those two awards will be given in honor of Mark Shepherd and Greg DeGroot, who both have given many years of leadership and volunteerism to the Y.

The Y will also recognize one Individual/group for the Youth Development Award, one Individual/group for the Healthy Living Award and one Individual/group for the Social Responsibility Award. Lastly, program staff will recognize program volunteers for their efforts this past year.

For more information contact Andy Johnson at 376-6197, ext. 225.