Weather Forecast


Update: Ellsworth City Hall, destroyed in morning fire, comes down

WHS FFA Chapter presents awards at banquet

Receiving Star awards during Monday night's Worthington High School FFA Banquet were (top): Star Greenhand Emily Williamson (from left), Star Placement Connor Smith and Star Entrepreneur Greg Newman. (Julie Buntjer/Daily Globe)1 / 2
Keith Ailts (left) earned the DeKalb award, given to a senior FFA member; and Turner Hagen was presented a gavel set as the retiring chapter president. (Julie Buntjer/Daily Globe)2 / 2

WORTHINGTON -- Worthington High School FFA member Greg Newman was named the chapter's Star Entrepreneur and Connor Smith collected the Star Placement award Monday night during the annual WHS FFA Banquet in the high school cafeteria.

The annual awards banquet honors the top FFA members in leadership, participation, service to others and records completion for Supervised Agricultural Experiences.

Emily Williamson was honored with the Star Greenhand, an award given to a student who excelled as a freshman and first-year member of the FFA.

Minnesota State FFA Degree certificates were presented to FFA members who will be recognized at the Minnesota FFA Convention in April. Receiving their state FFA degree this spring are Morgan Harberts, Brandi Williams, Turner Hagen, Deron Soderholm, Kirsten Aljets, Peter Scholtes, Blake Rogers, Alex Thompson, Keith Ailts and Greg Newman.

Turner Hagen was presented a gavel set as the retiring president of the WHS FFA Chapter, while Keith Ailts earned the DeKalb Senior Plaque and Peter Scholtes, another senior, was honored as the chapter's top fruit salesperson for four consecutive years (Keith Ailts garnered second place in fruit sales this year, while Olivia Bousema earned third place). Erik Landgaard earned the WHS FFA Trap Shooting award.

RadioWorks of Worthington was honored as the chapter's 2013 Honorary Member.

Recognized for leadership and scholarship in their class were freshmen Katie Rogers (leadership) and Netsanet Zemenfes (scholarship); sophomores Brianna Kempema (leadership) and Carson Hagen (scholarship); juniors Ashley Jansma (leadership) and Jake Weg (scholarship); and seniors Turner Hagen (leadership) and Morgan Harberts (scholarship).

Proficiency awards were presented to Morgan Harberts, Brandi Williams and Kirsten Aljets, ag sales; Turner Hagen, Deron Soderholm and Alex Thompson, ag placement; Connor Smith, ag mechanics repair and maintenance; Blake Rogers, ag mechanics design and fabrication; Keith Ailts, turf grass management; Greg Newman, beef cattle entrepreneurship; and Peter Scholtes, diversified ag placement.

Earning awards in FFA speaking contests were Maria Slocum (extemporaneous), Emily Williamson (prepared public) and Katie Rogers (FFA Creed).

Scholarship awards were presented to Turner Hagen (Jerry Russell scholarship), Blake Rogers and Morgan Harberts (Ray Cuperus scholarship), Deron Soderholm (Martha Olson scholarship), Greg Newman and Keith Ailts (AG Advisory Board scholarship) and Peter Scholtes (FFA Fruit scholarship).

Julie Buntjer

Julie Buntjer joined the Globe newsroom in December 2003, after working more than nine years for weekly newspapers. A native of Worthington, she has a bachelor's degree in agriculture journalism. Find more of her stories of farm life, family and various other tidbits at The Farm Bleat

(507) 376-7330