County commissioner races set in region

WORTHINGTON -- Nobles County Commissioner Diane Thier will face two opponents in her bid to seek reelection to the District 2 commissioner post this fall.

WORTHINGTON -- Nobles County Commissioner Diane Thier will face two opponents in her bid to seek reelection to the District 2 commissioner post this fall.

Thier, who represents the cities of Adrian, Lismore and Wilmont, and the townships of Bloom, Larkin, Leota, Lismore, Olney, Seward, Westside and Wilmont, has served her district since 2001.

Seeking to unseat Thier are Daryl Behrends of Wilmont and Frank V. Wieneke of rural Adrian.

Because there are more than two candidates seeking the commissioner post, the race will appear on the primary ballot Sept. 9.

The Nobles County District 5 Commissioner seat is also contested this year, with first-term incumbent Vern Leistico being challenged by Lee McAllister of Worthington. A primary is not required for this race because there are just two candidates, so voters will make their pick on the general ballot Nov. 4.


City and school board filing deadlines are at a later date.

The only other Nobles County races are in the Soil and Water Conservation District. All three openings are uncontested. James Knips seeks reelection to SWCD District 1, Ken Wolf has filed for the District 2 seat, and Lynn Darling has filed to keep his seat representing District 3.

Other filing results from throughout the area are:

Cottonwood County

Commissioner District 2: Incumbent Ron Kueker of Windom faces challenger Dennis Nelson of Windom.

Commissioner District 4: Norm Holmen of Comfrey, incumbent.

SWCD District 2: Verlyn Nickel.

SWCD District 4: Tom Muller.


SWCD District 5: Jim Bloch.

Jackson County

Commissioner District 1: Incumbent Craig Rubis of Lakefield faces challengers Mike Handzus of Lakefield and William "Bill" Tusa, Jackson.

Commissioner District 3: Victor Pohlman of Lakefield.

Commissioner District 5: David J. Henkels of Heron Lake.

SWCD District 1: David Hussong.

SWCD District 3: Dennis Daberkow.

SWCD District 5: Larry G. Hansen.


Murray County

Commissioner District 1: Incumbent Kevin Vickerman of Tracy faces challenger Donna Kor of Slayton.

Commissioner District 2: Incumbent Robert Moline of Garvin faces challengers Jeff Carlson of Slayton, Robert Ossefoort of Woodstock, Troy Schneekloth of Garvin, and Jamie Thomazin of Slayton.

Commissioner District 5: Incumbent William Sauer of Fulda faces challenger Arland R. Moger of Fulda.

SWCD District 3: Shannon Cohrs.

SWCD District 5: Roger Steinman.

Pipestone County

Commissioner District 1: Incumbent Luke Johnson of Holland faces challenger Marge De Ruyter of Holland.


Commissioner District 3: Incumbent Marvin Tinklenberg of Edgerton faces challenger Richard Muyskens of Edgerton.

Commissioner District 5: Incumbent Jerry L. Remund of Pipestone faces challenger Erv Pribyl of Pipestone.

SWCD District 1: Cal Spronk.

SWCD District 2: Ian Cunningham.

SWCD District 3: Anna Mae Fritz.

Rock County

Commissioner District 1: Incumbent Ken Hoime of Kenneth will be challenged by John C. Siebenahler, Luverne.

Commissioner District 3: Ron Boyenga, incumbent.


Commissioner District 5: Jane Wildung-Lanphere, incumbent.

SWCD District 1: Gene Cragoe.

SWCD District 3: Norman Overgaard.

SWCD District 4: Dave Esselink and Allen Nuffer are both new filers.

Julie Buntjer became editor of The Globe in July 2021, after working as a beat reporter at the Worthington newspaper since December 2003. She has a bachelor's degree in agriculture journalism from South Dakota State University.
What To Read Next
Get Local