Weather Forecast


Judges re-elected in Fifth Judicial District

MANKATO — The Honorable Michelle A. Dietrich has been re-elected to serve as chief judge of Minnesota’s Fifth Judicial District by her fellow judges. Assistant Chief Judge Gregory Anderson was also re-elected to his position as Assistant Chief Judge. Both will begin serving their second, consecutive, two-year terms on July 1.

Dietrich previously served as assistant chief judge of the Fifth District before her first term as chief judge and has served in the district since August 2008. Before her appointment to the bench, Chief Judge Dietrich served as Assistant Redwood County Attorney and later Redwood County Attorney. She served as a Ninth Judicial District law clerk in Bemidji and Clearwater after earning her juris doctorate degree from Hamline University School of Law in St. Paul. Dietrich’s chambers are located in the Lyon County Courthouse in Marshall.

Anderson was re-elected as assistant chief judge for the Fifth Judicial District. He was appointed to the bench in August 2008. Judge Anderson previously served as an assistant public defender in the Office of the Public Defender for the Fifth Judicial District and as an assistant city attorney for the City of Mankato. He served as a law clerk for the Fifth Judicial District and earned his juris doctorate from the University of Minnesota. He is chambered in the Blue Earth County Courthouse in Mankato.

Minnesota’s Fifth Judicial District serves the counties of Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock, and Watonwan. The district is served by 17 judges. In 2018, almost 49,000 cases were filed in Fifth Judicial District courts.