Deadline looms for candidates to file for county, state offices

Election 2020 graphic

WORTHINGTON — As of early Monday afternoon, there has yet to be a single candidate file for election to fill several county-level positions in The Globe’s coverage area, including county commissioner seats in Nobles, Murray and Pipestone counties, as well as Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor seats in Jackson, Murray and Pipestone counties.

The deadline for candidates to file for public office is 5 p.m. Tuesday.

As of 1:30 p.m. today, the following candidates have filed for office:

District 22 Senator: Republican incumbent Bill Weber of Luverne; Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Now candidate Brian Abrahamson of Luverne; and DFL candidates Shawna Marshall of Luverne and Roger L. Elgersma of Pipestone.

District 23 State Senator: Republican incumbent Julie Rosen of Vernon Center; and Legal Marijuana Now candidate David Pulkrabek of Blue Earth.


District 22A State Representative: Republican incumbent Joe Schomacker of Luverne.

District 22B State Representative: Republican incumbent Rod Hamilton of Mountain Lake.

District 23A State Representative: Republican candidate Bjorn Olson of Elmore.

Filing for county positions are:

Nobles County Commissioner District 1: Justin Ahlers; District 3: none; District 4: Robert S. Demuth. Soil and Water Supervisor District 1: James D. Knips; District 2: Nathan Thier; and District 3: Lynn Darling.

Cottonwood County Commissioner District 2: Kevin Stevens; and District 4: Norman Holmen. Cottonwood Soil and Water Supervisor District 2: Cody Duroe; District 4: Tom Muller; and District 5: Jeremy Nerem.

Jackson County Commissioner District 1: Scott McClure; District 3: Cathy Hohenstein; and District 5: James Eigenberg. Jackson Soil and Water Supervisor Districts 1: none; District 3: Dennis Daberkow; District 5: Larry G. Hansen.

Murray County Commissioner District 1: Molly Malone, James Jens; District 2: none; and District 5: David Thiner. No one has filed yet for Murray Soil and Water Supervisor Districts 3, 4 or 5.


Pipestone County Commissioner District 1: Luke Johnson and Tim H. Paulson; District 3: none; and District 5: Chris Hollingsworth. Pipestone Soil and Water Supervisor District 1: none; District 2: Ian Cunningham; and District 3: Ken Christensen.

Rock County Commissioner District 1: Gary Overgaard; District 3: Greg Burger; and District 5: Jody Reisch. Rock Soil and Water Supervisor District 1: Eugene Cragoe; District 3: Roger Hoff; and District 4: Dave Esselink.

In counties where a primary is not conducted, filing deadlines are later for cities and school districts, as well as townships who opted to be part of the November general election. These filing periods are from July 28 until 5 p.m. Aug. 11. In Nobles County, all cities and school districts use the later filing deadline.

For information on filing, visit the Minnesota Secretary of State website at .

Julie Buntjer became editor of The Globe in July 2021, after working as a beat reporter at the Worthington newspaper since December 2003. She has a bachelor's degree in agriculture journalism from South Dakota State University.
What To Read Next
Get Local