Education Briefs: July 22, 2020

Two area students on St. Cloud State dean's list

ST. CLOUD — St. Cloud State University has announced the names of more than 1,700 students whose academic achievement placed them on the 2020 spring semester dean's list. To be eligible for the honor, students must have a grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Among the students named to the list are Kyle Janssen, a political science major from BIgelow, and Molly Hansen, an athletic training major from Magnolia.

Three earn degrees from SCSU

ST. CLOUD — St. Cloud State University graduated more than 1,135 students during spring semester 2020. Among those earning degrees were three students from the southwest Minnesota region:
Angela Holthe of Jackson, bachelor of science in biology (biodiversity, ecology and evolution); Andrew Van Ruler of Slayton, master of science in rehabilitation and addiction counseling; Stephanie Garcia of Worthington, master of science in marriage and family therapy.

Spirit Lake student earns 4.0 at Drake

DES MOINES, Iowa — Emily Burrell of Spirit Lake, Iowa has been named to the president’s list for the spring 2020 semester at Drake University.
To be eligible, a student must have earned a perfect 4.0 GPA during the semester at Drake.

Worthington student graduates from Bethel University

ST. PAUL — Paige Stewart, the daughter of John and Kristine Stewart of Worthington, graduated from Bethel University following the spring 2020 semester.
Stewart earned a bachelor of arts degree in elementary education, grades K-6.


Area students named to spring dean's list at Bemidji State

BEMIDJI — Area students have earned dean's list honors from Bemidji State University at the conclusion of the spring 2020 semester.
To be eligible, BSU students must be enrolled for at least 12 credits and earn a 3.5 GPA during the semester. Area students on the list are Cade Ver Steeg of Luverne, and Heather Janssen and Sydney Paulson of Worthington.

Regional students on U of M Twin Cities dean's list

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL — The following students have been named to the 2020 spring semester dean's list at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities, the university has announced.
To qualify, a student must complete 12 or more letter-graded credits while attaining a 3.66 grade point average.
Area students on the dean’s list include: Adrian: Jada Elias, senior, School of Nursing; Dylan Gyberg, senior, College of Liberal Arts; Mikayla Jeffers, senior, College of Education/Human Development. Bingham Lake: Hannah Rahn, sophomore, College of Biological Sciences. Edgerton: Marcus VanderLugt, junior, College of Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Sciences. Jackson: Nicholas Reed, senior, College of Education/Human Development. Jeffers: Dalton Piotter, sophomore, College of Biological Sciences. Luverne: Makayla Huisman, senior, College of Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Sciences; Trenton Rops, senior, College of Continuing & Professional Studies; Sierra Schmuck, junior, Carlson School of Management; Carly Serie, senior, School of Nursing; Grace Sweeney, sophomore, College of Liberal Arts. Magnolia: Jaxon Nelson, sophomore, College of Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Sciences. Pipestone: Mitchell Bobendrier, junior, College of Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Sciences. Slayton: John Foster, senior, Medical School. Spirit Lake, Iowa: Sarah Weber, freshman, College of Liberal Arts. Wilmont: Jamie Newman, junior, College of Liberal Arts. Windom: Sydney Erickson, senior, College of Liberal Arts. Worthington: Christipher Lee, freshman, College of Science and Engineering; Julia Luke, junior, College of Design.

Spirit Lake student earns doctorate

DES MOINES, Iowa — Piper Swanson of Spirit Lake, Iowa was one of the many students earning a degree from Drake University at the end of the spring 2020 semester.

Swanson graduated with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree.

Alpha student on Normandale list

BLOOMINGTON — Normandale Community College announces its 2020 Spring Semester dean's list. Students on the list were enrolled in at least nine credits and have achieved a grade point average of at least 3.5 for courses completed in the fall semester ending this past May. Among those making the list was Jayne Weseman of Alpha.

Worthington student on Southeast Tech list

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. — Dagmawi Mebrahtu Gebremariam,a computer programming student from Worthington, has been named to Southeast Tech’s President’s List for the spring 2020 semester.
To attain recognition, students must be degree-seeking and have a term GPA of 3.5 or higher.


Related Topics: EDUCATION
What To Read Next
Navigator CO2 Ventures is hoping to streamline the application process in Illinois as they add an additional pipeline to the mix.
The North Dakota Highway Patrol is investigating the Wednesday, Jan. 25, crash.
Testimony to the top House committee from a convicted attendee of the Jan. 6 rally focused on the "inhumane" treatment of Jan. 6 defendants. The committee rejected a resolution on the matter 12-0.
Rep. Fred Deutsch, an opponent of last year's failed cannabis ballot measure, introduced a proposal to disallow consecutive attempts at statewide referenda. A House committee rejected the bill 10-2.