Education Briefs: June 24, 2020

Augustana University announces scholarship recipients

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. — Augustana University announces students who have earned a scholarship for the 2020-21 academic year in recognition of their achievements both inside and outside of the classroom.
The following regional students earned Augustana University scholarships: Dalwa Alinizi of Beaver Creek; Graham Cunningham and Gracie Rozeboom of Luverne; Kendra Frodermann of Magnolia; and Jenny Leon, Rocio Leon, Sullivan Merrigan, Jacob Mills and Tyler Wietzema of Worthington.

Ashton, Iowa student on Wartburg dean’s list

WAVERLY, Iowa — Logan Merley of Ashton, Iowa has been named to the Wartburg College Winter/May Term Dean's List.
The list honors students who earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or above in at least five course credits during the terms. Four of the five course credits have to be graded with a traditional letter grade.

Minnesota West named top school for online learning in health care

WORTHINGTON — Minnesota West Community & Technical College has been named one of 2020’s best schools for online learning in health care by
Minnesota West Community & Technical College earned top honors for its online programs and courses in the following areas: Best Online Associate Degrees in Healthcare Administration; Best Online Pharmacy Tech Programs; Best Online ADN Programs; and

Best Online Medical Billing and Coding Schools.

“Hundreds of schools offer distance learning options in healthcare,” said Wes Ricketts, founder of “But it can be tough to find one with a great balance of quality, affordability and student support. Minnesota West Community & Technical College has that.”

ADVERTISEMENT researched and analyzed more than 7,700 accredited schools using data from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) and from the schools themselves. The website’s data science team then applied a proprietary algorithm to rank all qualifying schools for each health care discipline. To qualify for a ranking, a school must hold active regional accreditation and have at least one partially online program in the ranking subject.

Jackson student earns University of Wisconsin-Stout degree

MENOMONIE, Wis. — Katrina Stoltenberg of Jackson recently graduated from University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie.
Stoltenberg received a bachelor of fine arts degree in industrial design.

Four area students graduate from Iowa

IOWA CITY, Iowa — More than 5,700 University of Iowa undergraduate, graduate and professional students earned degrees this spring.
Among those graduating were: Joanna Kruger of Ocheyedan, Iowa, who earned a bachelor of science in nursing; Mallory Nath of Hardwick, who earned a master’s degree in social work; Dawn Spiess of Rock Rapids, Iowa, who earned a master’s degree in social work; and Kristina Vogt, also of Rock Rapids, who earned a bachelor of arts in biology.

Seven from region on Gustavus Adolphus list

ST. PETER — The Spring Semester Dean's List at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade point average (based on a scale in which 4.0 = A) or higher for the semester ending in May 2020.
The following area students were named to the list: Jada Nelsen of Fulda; Anika Gust, Toby Sengvongxay and Kristen Ziegler of Luverne; Chanah Brandt of Mountain Lake; Rachel Skyberg of Pipestone; and Maria Vasquez of Worthington.

ISU announces spring 2020 dean’s list

AMES, Iowa — More than 12,500 Iowa State University students have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the spring semester 2020 dean's list. Students named to the list must have earned a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale while carrying a minimum of nine credit hours of graded course work.
The following area students made the list (major included in parenthesis):
Arnolds Park, Iowa: Shaelyn Adams (biology), Mathew Grisham (journalism and mass communication). Ashton, Iowa: Lexie Merley (meteorology). Brewster: Samantha Obermoller (biology). Jackson: Chyenne Cihak (animal science). Lake Park, Iowa: Ashley Erne (elementary education), Blake Gunderson (elementary education), Cheyenne Nelson (psychology), Ryan Vermulm (pre-architecture). Little Rock, Iowa: Caleb Burdsall (history). May City, Iowa: Jesse Castillo (meteorology). Melvin, Iowa: Alex McDougall (agricultural and life sciences education), Jacob Schultz (agronomy). Milford, Iowa: Bradenn Droegmiller (aerospace engineering), Matthew Finch (veterinary medicine), Blake Lineweaver (agronomy), Maria Meyer (biology), Kristin Nelson (apparel, merchandising and design), Andrew Noel (veterinary medicine), Jacob Vos (journalism and mass communication).
Ocheyedan, Iowa: Mitchell Vanderveen (chemical engineering). Okoboji, Iowa: Zaid Gustafson (advertising).
Rock Rapids, Iowa: Bergin Debruin (animal science), Madison Elbert (communication studies), Devin Miller (animal ecology), Emily Popkes (marketing), Gable Sieperda (finance), Carly Snyder (linguistics), Jacob Steenblock (liberal arts and sciences certificate — non-degree). Sibley, Iowa: Jill Berkland (animal science), Cole Newman (computer science), Amy Truckenmiller (financial counseling and planning). Spirit Lake, Iowa: Colten Bengs (economics), Ashlee Boelter (architecture-professional degree), Harley Butler (environmental science), Madalyn Button (chemical engineering), Mackenzie Chavez (elementary education), Nathan Cornwall (kinesiology and health), Elizabeth Denoble (supply chain management), Anna Ellefson (psychology), Sophia Endly (psychology), Mikaela Gaskill (environmental science), Greta Goodlaxson (elementary education), Emerson Latham (journalism and mass communication), Brittany Lende (chemical engineering), Cory Meschede (marketing), Makenna Murray (animal science), Jacob Poncelet (marketing), Stephen Sabharwal (supply chain management), Carter Tifft (athletic training), Lauren Wickham (event management). Storden: Thomas Sell (agricultural engineering). Worthington: Autumn Arnt (animal science), Burke Newman (aerospace engineering), Scott Schnieder (mechanical engineering).

Lakefield student stars at Cedarville

CEDARVILLE — Cedarville University student Rachel Salentiny of Lakefield, majoring in social work, has been named to the school’s dean's honor list for spring 2020.
This recognition required Salentiny to maintain a 3.75 GPA and carry a minimum of 12 credit hours.

What To Read Next
Get Local