Absentee voting begins Friday for several local school district special elections in advance of the Nov. 5 election day. The majority of in-person early ballots may be cast from Sept. 20 through Nov. 4 at respective county auditor-treasurer offices during business hours and minimal special hours.


Residents of Worthington’s Independent School District 518 can cast their vote on the district’s three-question ballot at the Nobles County Auditor’s Treasurer’s Office, 315 10th St., Worthington. Office hours are 8 a.m. through 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Special hours will be available from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Nov. 2 and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Nov. 4.

Absentee ballot applications are available on the county auditor-treasurer’s website.

The district will host two informational meetings, Sept. 23 and Oct. 14. Both meetings will begin at 7 p.m. in the Worthington High School band room.

More information about District 518’s upcoming referendum is available online.


Adrian Public School residents may also begin absentee/early voting on the district’s operating referendum questions and school board vacancy at the Nobles County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office in Worthington.

Chad Wieneke is the only name on the ballot to fill a school board vacancy term that expires in January 2021.

The other two questions will ask voters to renew the district’s referendum revenue authorization of $379.26 per pupil. The second will then ask voters to support an additional $483 per pupil.

More information is available on the district’s website.


The Nobles County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office will also be the location that ISD 514 residents can vote early on whether or not to support a 10-year increase to the district’s per-pupil referendum revenue.

The single-question ballot will ask voters to revoke the existing referendum revenue authorization of $1,121 to replace it with $1,779.50 per pupil.

The district reported the last time it approached voters with an operating levy request was in 2013.

More information is available on the district’s website.

Jackson County Central

Jackson County Central residents can also head to their auditor-treasurer’s office, 405 Fourth Street, Jackson, to cast their vote on the district’s $35.4 million ballot. Open office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Special hours will also be available Nov. 2 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Nov. 4 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Residents will have the opportunity to learn more information at two upcoming meetings. The first opportunity will be at 7 p.m. Sept. 26 in the JCC High School auditorium in Jackson. The second meeting is 7 p.m. Oct. 3 in the JCC Middle School auditorium in Lakefield.

More information is on the district’s website.

Murray County Central

MCC residents asked to renew the district’s current referendum revenue authorization of $625.69 can begin casting their vote Friday at the Murray County Central District Office, 2420 28th Street, Slayton. Open hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

More information is available on the MCC website.