Catholic Schools Raffle now underway

ST. PAUL — The Catholic Schools Raffle has returned this winter to Catholic schools across three states, allowing the opportunity to turn $5 into a brand new car or $20,000 in cash while supporting local Catholic schools.

More than 13,000 students across Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota are now selling the $5 tickets. Each ticket purchased gives ticket buyers the opportunity to win a 2021 Ford EcoSport (or $20,000 in cash), or other great prizes totaling $40,000 in value. Every penny of every ticket sold stays with the schools thanks to the raffle’s sole sponsor, Catholic United Financial. The St. Paul-based company provides all the prizes and promotion materials for the Raffle at no cost to the participating schools.

“Catholic United’s mission since our founding 143 years ago has included supporting Catholic education, and we couldn’t be happier or prouder to support our schools with the Catholic Schools Raffle,” explained Catholic United President Mike Ahles. “Since the program started, we have invested over one million dollars in the Raffle because we understand how this unique fundraiser greatly benefits the students and their teachers.”

Now in its 12th year, the Catholic Schools Raffle has raised more than $9.5 million for Catholic schools in Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota. This year, Catholic United is challenging the 82 participating schools to collectively raise $1 million during the six-week selling period. The money raised allows schools to provide tuition assistance, update technology systems, or to cover the cost of special learning opportunities like guest speakers and field trips.

Ticket sales will continue through Feb. 28 and are only available at participating schools. The prize drawing ceremony takes place at 11 a.m. March 11 at the Catholic United Financial Home Office in St. Paul. Raffle updates and a full list of participating schools can be found on Facebook at

Several from region make Augustana dean’s list

SIOUX FALLS, South Dakota — Augustana University has announced the students named to the dean's list for the fall semester of the 2020-21 academic year.

The dean's list recognizes full-time students who have a minimum of 12 credit hours with grade-point averages at 3.5 or above (on a 4.0 scale). Students earning recognition (listed by hometown) include:

Alpha: Anna Rose.

Beaver Creek: Dalwa Alinizi.

Holland: Mallory Zeinstra.

Lakefield: Alyssa Post, Sofia Stumpf

Lismore: Sabdi Bravo.

Luverne: Carissa Cunningham, Emily Dilly, Jedidiah Dooyema, Riley Severtson, Hope Van Meeteren

Pipestone: Emily Blom, Michelle Neece, Logan Winter

Rock Rapids, Iowa: Charlotte Berg, Brendan Huisman, Hailey Iwen, Thadd Myrlie, Sierra Smith

Sibley, Iowa: Matthew Naig.

Slayton: Mallory Loosbrock.

Wilmont: Logan Lenz.

Worthington: Aliyah Abdulrahman, Taylor Eggers, Dawn Geertsema, Stewart Merrigan, Anna Meyer

Two from region make Hamline dean’s list

Newsletter signup for email alerts

ST. PAUL — Two southwest Minnesota students are among those who have been named to Hamline University College of Liberal Arts Dean's List.

To qualify, students must earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher and maintain a full course load. Among those earning spots on the list are Emily Kathman of Slayton and Laura Larreynaga of Worthington.

George student earns Morningside degree

SIOUX CITY, Iowa — Dalton Van Briesen of George, Iowa was among 33 Morningside College students to earn a bachelor’s degree from the school in December.

Van Briesen graduated with a bachelor of science degree in business administration.

Lakefield student earns Minnesota State honors

FERGUS FALLS — Minnesota State Community and Technical College has named 560 students to its president's list for the 2020 fall semester. Among those students is Brian Drexler of Lakefield.

Students on the president's list completed a minimum of six college-level credits and 75 percent of the courses in which they enrolled for the semester and earned a grade point average of 4.0.

Two from region on RCTC president’s list

ROCHESTER — Two area residents are among more than 400 students from Rochester Community and Technical College who made the president's list for fall semester ending this past December.

To qualify for the list, students must have completed 12 credits or more for the same semester with a 4.0 GPA. Making the list were Dominic Bargfrede of Alpha and Ashley Aanenson of Lake Wilson.

Area students make dean’s list at Alexandria college

ALEXANDRIA — Several Alexandria Technical & Community College students were recently named to the dean's list for achieving a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for fall semester 2020:

Among the students making the list are: Eli Edlin of Jackson, Alexia Kemper of Lismore, Abigail Hamman of Slayton, Talitha Horkey of Westbrook, Austin Majerus of Windom and Ashley Noerenberg of Worthington.

MCC graduate on St. Luke’s president’s list

SIOUX CITY, Iowa — Kristi Bose, a fourth-year student at St. Luke’s College-UnityPoint Health, made the president’s list for the fall semester 2020.

Students who qualify for the list achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or above as well as satisfactory clinical attainment for that session.

Bose is pursuing his bachelor of science in nursing degree. She is a graduate of Murray County Central High School in Slayton, and is the daughter of Jim and Karla Bose of Slayton.

Worthington student earns 4.0 GPA at BSC

BISMARCK, North Dakota — Adam Martin of Worthington has been named to the President's Honor Roll with a 4.0 GPA for the fall 2020 semester at Bismarck State College.

Students must maintain at least a 3.50 grade point on a 4.00 scale while enrolled in at least 12 semester hours of classes to qualify for the BSC President's Honor Roll.

Four from region on KCC dean’s list

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa — Kirkwood Community College has released its dean's list for the fall 2020 semester. These students have achieved a 3.3 grade point average or higher after completing 12 or more credit hours at the college.

Among those qualifying for honors are: Addison Metzger and Austin Metzger of Rock Rapids, Iowa, Caleb Christion-Mayer of Sibley, Iowa and Blake Tillotson, Spirit Lake, Iowa.

Area students earn academic honors at MSU Moorhead

MOORHEAD — Multiple students from the region have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement fall semester 2020. Students must maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average and carry 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Among those students making the list are: Tyler Aanenson, a psychology major from Lake Wilson; Grace Becker, a social work major from Windom; Chloe Lear, an elementary inclusive education major from Pipestone; Stacy Mertens, a health services administration major from Edgerton; Winter Sievert, an entertainment industries and technology major from Okabena; Emma Thuringer, a speech/language/hearing science major from Worthington; Samuel Vallego, a theatre arts major from Worthington; Wyatt Vansteenberg, a business administration major from Luverne; and Emily Wendland, an entertainment industries and technology major from Luverne.