Weather Forecast


Planning under way for new South Dakota governor’s inaugural celebration

PIERRE, S.D. – The Pierre community is preparing to welcome South Dakota’s next governor to the capital city.

Matt and Stephanie Judson  will be the chairs of the 2019 Inaugural Committee made up of about 30 people and hundreds of volunteers who will plan and execute the statewide celebration for South Dakota’s next governor.

Gov. Dennis Daugaard has served two terms and is term-limited. He will be replaced by Democrat Billie Sutton, a legislator and former cowboy, or Republican U.S. Rep. Kristi Noem, who won their respective primaries in June.

“South Dakota is somewhat unique in that our Inaugural Celebration is hosted by the capital city and paid for by private donations,” said Pierre Mayor Steve Harding. “Regardless of who wins the November election, the city plans the celebration.”

Among the events are the oath of office ceremonies, the capitol ball, the inaugural ball and “everything in between,”  said Matt Judson.

The Inauguration is scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 5. The majority of activity will take place at the Capitol in Pierre with a post-ceremony ball at the Ramkota Convention C