ST. PAUL — The League of Minnesota Cities has recognized 34 state lawmakers — including District 22 Sen. Bill Weber, R-Luverne — as 2019 Legislators of Distinction. Chosen legislators are honored for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during the past year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are approved annually by the League’s Board of Directors in recognition of the collaboration of state and city officials needed to successfully serve shared communities and meet the unique needs of rural, urban and suburban residents across Minnesota.

To be eligible for the award, legislators must achieve one or more of the following criteria: be generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives; seek input on issues of importance to cities; listen to League concerns and be receptive to League-provided information on issues; sponsor and/or support League initiatives; speak out on behalf of the interest of cities; and demonstrate the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Weber regularly seeks League input on legislation impacting local units of government, and authors strong bills to highlight city challenges in implementing state environmental policies and regulations. Additionally, he authored legislation to restore LGA funding to the 2002 level.

Award winners received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. A copy of the acknowledgement letter was also sent to the mayor of each city in the legislator’s district.