SIBLEY, Iowa — Among several election races that took place Tuesday night across northwest Iowa, a seat on the Sibley-Ocheyedan School Board was one of the tightest.

In the only contested race for a spot on the S-O board, Kristen Beyer emerged as the winner with an unofficial count of 250 votes. That was barely ahead of Roxanne Hayenga, who had 247.

In other contested races around northwest Iowa (vote totals unofficial):

Ashton City Council (vote for 2): Mark VanderPol 55, Mick Klein 19, Kay Winkel 13.

Central Lyon school board (three at-large seats): Joel DeWit 260, Andy Koob 258, David Jans 235, Cassandra Downard 197.

George Mayor: James L. Cuttell 108, Warren Tiedeman 106, John Henry Vivian 45.

George Council Member (vote for 3): Warren Tiedeman 202, Stacy Denekas 160, Andre Bruinsma 159, Norm Riemersma 118, Cory Nagel 74, Kathryn Fox 60.

George-Little Rock school board (one at-large seat): Austin Lloyd 215, Paul Denekas 186, Allison Sandbeck 126.

Harris-Lake Park school board (District 5): Lisa Taber Carstensen 24, Evan Bensley 13.

Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn school board (District 2): David Vander Broek 394, Anthony Diehm 162.

Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn public measure: Yes 41, No 13.

Sibley Council Member At Large: Lynelle Thiner 244, James Sembach Jr. 82.

Sibley Council Member Ward 2: Tim Nobles 9, Douglas Hensch 8.

Melvin City Council (vote for 2): Christopher Michelson 31, Amy Baker 20, John McDougall 10.