ST. PAUL — Gov. Tim Walz has authorized state disaster assistance for Murray, Pipestone, Rock and Traverse counties for damage sustained from severe thunderstorms between Sept. 10-15, 2019.

The counties were impacted by a series of severe thunderstorms that produced very heavy rainfalls and flooding, conditions exacerbated by previous spring flooding and summer rains. The county boards of commissioners declared local emergencies and submitted requests for state disaster assistance to aid in recovery.

The governor’s authorization allows the State Disaster Assistance Contingency Account to reimburse communities for 75% of eligible costs. Local governments will cover the remaining 25% of eligible costs.