Globe 150th: Former part-owner of the Globe recalls 45 years in newspapers

"The nine years that I was a part-owner of the Globe were some of the most gratifying years of my career. "

Owen Van Essen
Owen Van Essen
Submitted photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

I’ve worked my entire 45-year career in newspapers. It started at the Globe in 1977.

I was fortunate to work around some of the most talented people that I have known in the newspaper industry. They were smart, dedicated, and just fun to be around. I was extremely fortunate to have been given the opportunity by Jim Vance to buy a minority stake in the company.

The nine years that I was a part-owner of the Globe were some of the most gratifying years of my career. The Vance family always wanted nothing more than to put out the best newspaper they could with the financial resources the business provided.

My time at the Globe and in Worthington will always hold a very place in my life.

Owen Van Essen
Dirks, Van Essen & April
Santa Fe, New Mexico


It's now a ghost town, yet in its heyday, everyone might have known your name in Craigville, Minnesota. But their saloons were also reportedly some of the rowdiest and most unruly in the state.
It was an almost impenetrable copper box inside a cornerstone of Trinity Lutheran Church. Members learned it was a time capsule with surprises from the past, but what did the past want to share?
Some of Linda Burfield Hazzard's patients described her as a gifted and intelligent healer who helped them overcome all sorts of maladies. Others considered her a serial killer.

What To Read Next
Any resident within the city of Worthington can apply to get a nutritious, balanced meal delivered to their door. Both regular and special diet meals, such as salt-free or diabetic, are available.
Mahoney was named Education Minnesota Worthington’s Teacher of the Year in May 2022.
The Jackson County Libraries are hosting puzzle competitions at all three libraries on Feb. 25.
Jenson will be invited to a recognition banquet in March and League officials will announce the four statewide Triple A Award winners at that time.