Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA distributes honors

SIBLEY, Iowa -- The Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA Chapter presented six Star Chapter awards during the annual FFA banquet Friday night at the SO High School in Sibley.

SIBLEY, Iowa -- The Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA Chapter presented six Star Chapter awards during the annual FFA banquet Friday night at the SO High School in Sibley.

Ashley Kohn was named the Chapter Star Farmer in production, while Brian Alexander received the Chapter Star Farmer in placement. Chapters Stars in Agribusiness were awarded to Max Eddy and Brady Hoekstra; and Chapter Stars in Agricultural Placement went to Cassandra Gradert and Jared Onken.

Star Greenhand awards, presented to freshman students who have excelled in the FFA program, were awarded to Jenny Travaille, Steven Brockshus and Kevin Berkland.

Honorary Chapter FFA Degrees were bestowed on Becky Block and Dan and Loretta Berkland. A community service award was presented to the Osceola County Supervisors, while Doeden Construction was honored with a distinguished service award. A special service honor was presented to Sibley Sheet Metal.

Brian Alexander received a $200 John Van Westen scholarship while Ashley Kohn, Cassandra Gradert and Max Eddy each received a $200 Friends of the FFA scholarship.


Dekalb Leadership awards were presented to Cassandra Gradert and Max Eddy.

In public speaking, Jenny Travaille was recognized for her efforts as the chapter's Creed speaker, while Brandon Brockshus was honored for extemporaneous speaking.

Freshman achievement awards went to Mandy Gradert and Eric Zylstra; the FFA Attitude award was presented to Kristen Rollins and Marisa Ramos; and the Blue & Gold Award was given to both Annie Zylstra and Isaac Butler.

Recognized as Outstanding Freshmen Leaders were Megan Jurgens and Derek Ackerman, while the outstanding Freshman SAE Program honor was given to William Rockman. Amber Vander Veen received the Chapter Service award.

Proficiency awards were given to FFA members for excellent recordkeeping in their Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE). Honored Friday night in the proficiency areas were: Ag Mechanics Design & Fabrication: Daniel Rust. Ag Mechanics Repair and Maintenance: Cody Petersen (entrepreneurship); Jordon Loerts (placement). Ag Mechanics Energy Systems (entrepreneurship/ placement): Patrick Frick. Ag Mechanics: Jared Onken. Metal Fabrication: Brian Alexander. Auto Body Repair: Tom Braun. Heavy Equip. Operation/ Maintenance: Cody Marco. Truck Maintenance/Repair: Justin Johnson. Farm Tractor Restoration: A.J. Weg. Building Construction: Landon Howard. Building Restoration & Construction: Tanner Doeden. Construction Proficiency: Trent Claus Ag Electrification: Ted Kruger. Ag Processing (entrepreneurship/placement): Colton Richards Ag Sales (placement): Ashley Kohn and Megan Schaeuble. Ag Sales & Service (placement): Jessica Wietzema. Placement in Business: Rachel Watterson. Placement in General Construction: Cody Dirks. Proficiency in Customer Service: Rachel Poss. Retail Sales: Cassandra Gradert. Retail Sales & Service: Allison Ackerman. Beef Production: Allison Helmers and Thomas Croatt (entrepreneurship); Kody Wills and Brett Schmidt (placement). Beef Cow/Calf Management/Production: Breanna Gradert and William Rockman. Beef Herd Management: Max Eddy. Dairy Beef (production): Marisa Ramos. Dairy Production: Brandon Brockshus. Dairy Production (placement): Scotty Nasers and Lacey Thiesse. Dairy Care & Management: Kaitlin Michelson. Dairy Showmanship: Drew Heemstra. Diversified Ag Production (entrepreneurship/placement): Derek Ackerman. Diversified Crop Production (placement): Steven Thole. Diversified Livestock Production: Tyler Frick and Amanda Hunt (entrepreneurship); Justin Wagenaar (placement). Feeder Livestock Production: Brad Alexander and Caleb Wagenaar. Placement in Production Ag: Jacob Fox and Steven Brockshus. Livestock Care & Management: Brady Hoekstra and Jacob Laverman. Livestock Management Proficiency: Lora Luitjens. Noah's Ark Award: Lora Luitjens. Soil & Natural Resource Management: Ted Braaksma. Equine Science: Mandy Gradert and Annie Zylstra (entrepreneurship); Morgan Gradert (placement). Equine Training: Caitlin Stewart and Katie Andrews. Equine Training & Exhibition: Kayla Van Stelton and Brittni Strouth. Food Science and Technology (entrepreneurship/placement): Shelby Vickery. Food Service: Jenna Luedeman and Tiffany Mc Kee. Food Preparation/Service & Management: Jesse Richardson. Forage Production (entrepreneurship/placement): Joey Klaassen. Fruit Production (entrepreneurship/placement): Maggie Dykstra. Grain Production (placement): Eric Zylstra. Home and/or Community Development (entrepreneurship/placement): Brian Block. Home Improvement: Isaac Butler, Arrielle De Noble and Kristen Rollins. Volunteer Service: Shelby Huisenga. Community Service: Megan Jurgens. School Service: Aaron De Boer. Proficiency in Service: Amber Vander Veen. Proficiency in Nursing: Katy Marco and Ashley Julius. Landscape Management: Paul Davids (entrepreneurship); Craig Jacobsma (placement). Outdoor Recreation (entrepreneurship/placement): Tucker Boone and Kendra Kruger. Recreation Proficiency: Jessica Ackerman. Proficiency in Childcare: Danielle Claus, Madison Fisher and Amanda Nasers. Competitive Sports & Recreation Proficiency: Kyle Trieweiler. Poultry Production (placement): Trevor Van Tilburg. Poultry Production (entrepreneurship): Amber Julius. Sheep Production: Sami Travaille and Jenny Travaille (entrepreneurship); Tyler Fox (placement). Small Animal Production and Care (entrepreneurship): Rachel Wolfswinkel. Specialty Animal Production (entrepreneurship): Kelsey Lonneman. Specialty Animal Production (entrepreneurship/placement): Kevin Berkland. Swine Production: Jay Kruger (entrepreneurship); Seth Stevens and Colton Nasers (placement). Turf Grass Management: David Willemssen and Troy Schmidt (entrepreneurship); Jessica Nasers (placement).

Lawn Care & Management: Nic Petersen and Bethany Schuttler.

Turf Grass Management (ball fields): Kimmi Jacobsma. Wildlife Management: Isaac Roede (entrepreneurship); Jesse Kruger (placement).

FFA Service Award: Sarah Maker.

Julie Buntjer became editor of The Globe in July 2021, after working as a beat reporter at the Worthington newspaper since December 2003. She has a bachelor's degree in agriculture journalism from South Dakota State University.
What To Read Next
Get Local