Voters will have choices in several state, county races this fall

Election 2020 art graphic logo

WORTHINGTON — Nobles County will see a race in two of its commissioner districts, as three individuals filed for candidacy before the 5 p.m. filing deadline Tuesday.

In Nobles County Commissioner District 1, there will be a rematch between Justin Ahlers and Marvin Zylstra. Ahlers is in the fourth year of his first term, which he gained by unseating Zylstra in the November 2016 general election.

In District 3, Commissioner Matt Widboom — wrapping up his second term and vowing to serve just two terms — did not file. On Tuesday, candidates Robert Paplow and Leticia “Letty” Rodriguez each filed for the office.

Incumbent Robert S. Demuth was the lone candidate to file for the Commissioner District 5 seat.

Filing for Nobles County Soil and Water Supervisor were James Knips in District 1, Nathan Thier in District 2 and Lynn Darling in District 3.


In the campaign for U.S. Senate, DFL incumbent Tina Smith faces challenges from four DFL candidates: Steve Carlson, Ahmad R. Hassan, Paula Overby and Christopher Lovell Seymore, Sr.. Also running are Republican candidates John L. Berman, Bob "Again" Carney Jr., Cynthia Gail, Jason Lewis and James Reibestein, as well as Legal Marijuana Now candidate Kevin O'Connor and Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis candidate Oliver Steinberg.

U.S. House District 1 Republican incumbent Jim Hagedorn is being challenged by DFL candidate Dan Feehan and Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis candidate Bill Rood.

U.S. House District 7 DFL incumbent Collin Peterson, meanwhile, faces two DFL challengers in Stephen A. Emery and Alycia R. Gruenhagen, as well as five Republican challengers, Noel Collis, Michelle Fischbach, Dave Hughes, William Louwagie and Jayesun Israel Sherman. Also running are Legal Marijuana Now candidate Slater Johnson and Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis candidates Rae Hart Anderson and Kevin "NeSe" Shores.

District 22 Senator: Republican incumbent Bill Weber of Luverne; Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Now candidate Brian Abrahamson of Luverne; and DFL candidates Shawna Marshall of Luverne and Roger L. Elgersma of Pipestone.

District 23 State Senator: Republican incumbent Julie Rosen of Vernon Center; and Legal Marijuana Now candidate David Pulkrabek of Blue Earth.

District 22A State Representative: Republican incumbent Joe Schomacker of Luverne; and DFL candidates Chris Baumberger of Slayton and John Roedl of Balaton.

District 22B State Representative: Republican incumbent Rod Hamilton of Mountain Lake; and DFL candidate Lynn Herrick of Worthington.

District 23A State Representative: Republican candidates Bjorn Olson of Elmore and Michael Sukalski of Fairmont; DFL candidate Patricia Fahey Bacon of Fairmont.


Cottonwood County Commissioner District 2: Kevin Stevens; and District 4: Norman Holmen. Cottonwood Soil and Water Supervisor District 2: Cody Duroe; District 4: Tom Muller; and District 5: Jeremy Nerem.

Jackson County Commissioner District 1: Scott McClure; District 3: Cathy Hohenstein; and District 5: James Eigenberg. Jackson Soil and Water Supervisor Districts 1: David Hussong; District 3: Dennis Daberkow; District 5: Larry G. Hansen.

Murray County Commissioner District 1: Molly Malone, James Jens; District 2: Lori Gunnink; and District 5: David Thiner. Murray Soil and Water Supervisor Districts 3: none; District 4: Mona Henkels; and District 5: Karen Hurd.

Pipestone County Commissioner District 1: Luke Johnson and Tim H. Paulson; District 3: Rick A. Fey; and District 5: Chris Hollingsworth. Pipestone Soil and Water Supervisor District 1: Calvin Spronk; District 2: Ian Cunningham; and District 3: Ken Christensen.

Rock County Commissioner District 1: Gary Overgaard; District 3: Greg Burger; and District 5: Jody James Reisch. Rock Soil and Water Supervisor District 1: Eugene Cragoe; District 3: Roger Hoff; and District 4: Dave Esselink.

Julie Buntjer became editor of The Globe in July 2021, after working as a beat reporter at the Worthington newspaper since December 2003. She has a bachelor's degree in agriculture journalism from South Dakota State University.
What To Read Next
Get Local