Worthington Dollars for Scholars recipients recognized

Twenty-five members of the Worthington High School Class of 2021 are receiving $34,500 in scholarships.

(Submitted photo)

WORTHINGTON — Worthington Dollars for Scholars recognized its 2021 scholarship winners during a Wednesday evening event at Memorial Auditorium Performing Arts Center. Twenty-five members of the Worthington High School Class of 2021 are receiving $34,500 in scholarships.

Recipients completed applications, which were anonymously evaluated based upon personal data including employment, extracurricular activities, leadership involvement, unusual circumstances, teacher appraisals, class rank, cumulative GPA and ACT scores.

Samara Nordby received the Georgia Entenza Endowed Scholarship of $2,500, while Rosa Melgoza received the Louise Mowrey Endowed Scholarship of $2,500. These endowed scholarships are payable over two years and were gifts from Matt Entenza and Lois Quam in honor of Entenza’s mother and grandmother.

Jeffrey Ludes and Sophie Wietzema received the Anna Lois Shipman Memorial Endowed Scholarships ($1,500 per student). Anna Shipman always dreamed of going to college, but wasn't able to do so because of the Great Depression. Harold Shipman and Beth Habicht established this memorial scholarship in honor of their mother.

The Mike Patrick-Milt Osterberg Endowed Scholarship ($1,000) and an additional Dollars for Scholars scholarship ($500) were awarded to Emma Hansen. The Mike Patrick-Milt Osterberg Endowed Scholarship is awarded to a deserving student in tribute to Coach Osterberg’s and Patrick’s passion for youths who are willing to strive for success in reaching their goals.


The Fredi Lowry and Doris Rubsam Memorial Endowed Scholarship of $500, in addition to a Dollars for Scholars scholarship in the amount of $500, went to Ariana Jeffers. Lowry and Rubsam were best friends who shared a love a family, community, travel and education. Their many friends and loved ones honor their memories with this scholarship award.

Stephanie Bauman received the Golden K Kiwanis of Worthington Endowed Scholarship in the amount of $1,000, in addition to a $500 Dollars for Scholars scholarship.

A William E. Little Memorial Endowed Scholarship of $1,000, in addition to a Dollars for Scholars scholarship of $500, went to Nathan Van Orman. Little was educated in a one-room schoolhouse in Round Lake and left school after eighth grade to care for his family. He later earned his GED from WHS and had a rich military career in both the U.S. Army and Air Force. Little so valued his education and the opportunities afforded him that he left a provision in his will for money to be endowed to Dollars for Scholars of Worthington in gratitude for his success.

The Joan Ehlers Mork Endowed Scholarship of $1,000, in addition to a Worthington Dollars for Scholars scholarship in the amount of $500, went to Maranda Thier. Mork had a passion for music and gave much of herself and her skills to the communities and churches she was a part of. This scholarship was established by her family and friends to honor her memory.

The Dr. Gordon L. and Joan S. Moore Endowed Scholarship of $500, in addition to a Dollars for Scholars scholarship in the amount of $1,000, was awarded to Jena Joens. Moore was an associate professor of psychiatry at the Mayo Medical School and mentored numerous young physicians during his years doing hospital service in Rochester. Dr. and Mrs. Moore were passionate supporters of medical education. Their family members honor their memory with this scholarship award.

Madison Schaefer received the Conrad and Judith Schmidt Endowed Scholarship for Agriculture and Animal Science in the amount of $1,000 and an additional Dollars for Scholars scholarship of $500. Conrad and Judy Schmidt both graduated from Worthington High School, where there were very involved in athletics. They have been active in the Worthington community and in supporting education focusing primarily on agriculture, biologics, and animal health.

Jacquelyn Banegas, Beatriz Gabriel, Mariah Hennings and Cassandra Mendez were awarded Muchlinski Family Scholarships of $1,500 each. Alan and Michele Muchlinski established two of these scholarships to recognize graduating seniors that excelled in athletics and academics and were interested in STEM, and two scholarships to recognize outstanding scholars that were first-generation college students.

Terbuto Ochothow received a $1,500 Dollars for Scholars scholarship.


Dollars for Scholars scholarships in the amount of $1,000 were also awarded to: Megan Rahn, Daniel Pavelko, Damon Schutz, Elizabeth Spiegelhoff, Jordan Melendez, Thomas Lais, Betty Garcia-Herrera, Kero Morke and Brynne White.

The scholarships originate from the income earned from endowments, donations from local businesses and other supporters, as well as through the DFS annual golf tournament. Dollars For Scholars will be hosting its annual golf tournament at 3 p.m. June 21.

For more information about the Worthington Dollars for Scholars chapter, or to make a donation, contact any one of the following members of the Dollars for Scholars Board: Tammy Koller, President; John Standafer, Vice President; Andrea Johnson, Treasurer; Deb Baumgarn, Secretary; Zach Brandt; Kristin Jaycox; Gordon Moore; Josh Oberloh; Dick Schlichte; Lakeyta Swinea; Greg Wede; and Betsy Wetering.

Donations may also be mailed to Worthington Dollars for Scholars. P.O. Box 73, Worthington 56187.

Related Topics: EDUCATION
What To Read Next
Navigator CO2 Ventures is hoping to streamline the application process in Illinois as they add an additional pipeline to the mix.
The North Dakota Highway Patrol is investigating the Wednesday, Jan. 25, crash.
Testimony to the top House committee from a convicted attendee of the Jan. 6 rally focused on the "inhumane" treatment of Jan. 6 defendants. The committee rejected a resolution on the matter 12-0.
Rep. Fred Deutsch, an opponent of last year's failed cannabis ballot measure, introduced a proposal to disallow consecutive attempts at statewide referenda. A House committee rejected the bill 10-2.