Weather Forecast


Prep football: RRC's Hansen is 9-Man district back of the year

Red Rock Central and Russell-Tyler-Ruthton each placed five players on the 9-Man South All-District West football team for 2017. And Westbrook-Walnut Grove, Mountain Lake Area, Edgerton/Ellsworth and Hills-Beaver Creek all had four players chosen.

Sam Hansen of Red Rock Central was chosen as the Back of the Year. Russell-Tyler-Ruthton’s Westin Kirk was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Trey Gilbertson of Edgerton/Ellsworth is the Lineman of the Year and Isaac Jenniges of RRC is the Coach of the Year.

Here are the All-District players, listed according to school with grades in parentheses:

Red Rock Central -- San Hansen (12), Brady Rasmussen (12), Garrett Marsh (12), Spencer Simonson (12), Jared Schroepfer (11)

Russell-Tyler-Ruthton -- Westin Kirk (12), Jonah Johnson (12), Jake Fischer (12), Cooper Hansen (11), Carter Hansen (11)

Westbrook-Walnut Grove -- Anthony Ross (12), Kyle Kuehl (12), Andrew Quade (11), Nathan Ross (10)

Mountain Lake Area -- Drake Harder (11), Jeff Wright (12), Abraham Stoesz (10), Jesse Jepsen (11)

Edgerton/Ellsworth -- Trey Gilbertson (12), Jaden Bloemendaal (12), Zach Johnson (11), Parker Carlson (11)

Hills-Beaver Creek -- Trenton Bass (12), Garrett Raymon (11), Jesse Elbers (12), Preston Maassen (12)

Renville County West -- Eric Piceno (12), Jaime Castillo (11), Jaden Kolker (9)

MACCRAY -- Braden Hoekstra (12), Sam Hilbrands (12)

Fulda -- Levi Spittle (11)

Heron Lake-Okabena -- Wyatt Schumacher (12)

Honorable mention -- Jordan Rogotzke (12) and Austin Irlbeck (11) of RRC; Jon Lucero (11) and Evan Swanson (12) of R-T-R; Ethan Parker (11) and Jace Paplow (10) of W-WG; AJ Vongsy (12) and Reynaldo Capetillo (12) of MLA; Landon Buckridge (12) and Mitch Schaap (12) of E/E; Jax Wysong (10) and Gavin Wysong (9) of H-BC; Trent Kjersten (12) and Jack Howard (10) of RCW; Kelby Jaenisch (11) and Jakob Zuidema (11) of MACCRAY; Dalton Slinger (12) and Eli Gonzalez (11) of Fulda; Ethan Becker (12) and Hunter Lubben (12) of HL-O