The Jackson County Central wrestling team is one of four surviving Class A programs still alive for a state championship. And several area high school wrestlers will compete today for individual titles at St. Michael-Albertville High School.

Semifinal team matches begin at 9 a.m. Individual matches begin at 2 p.m.

Jackson County Central is seeded No. 2 in the tournament and goes against third-seeded Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale-Parkers Prairie in the semifinals. The other semifinal match has Kimball and Royalton squaring off.

There are several area Class A wrestlers ranked high in The Guillotine wrestling publication.

JCC’s Payton Handevidt, who won his first state individual championship last year, is ranked No. 1 at 152 pounds. Teammates Nolan Ambrose (106), Kie Anderson (113) and Logan Butzon (126) are ranked No. 2 in their weight classes. Huskies Matthew Haley (160) and Caleb Vancura (195) are ranked seventh and ninth in the state, respectively. Thomas Freking of JCC is ninth at 132.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Kade Sammons of Windom/Mountain Lake is the top-ranked wrestler at 138 pounds. Hudson Burnett of Pipestone Area is No. 3 at 113. Ayden Horner of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove is No. 2 at 132. Caden Johnson of T-M-B/W-WG is ranked No. 9 at 170.

Here are the wrestlers who qualified from the Super Section 2A/3A tournament:

106: 1) Tommy Elwood, Medford; 2) Nolan Ambrose, JCC

113: 1) Hudson Burnett, Pipestone Area; 2) Kie Anderson, JCC

120: 1) Eric Carrasco, Minneota; 2) Lane Fink, Canby

126: 1) Logan Butzon, JCC; 2) Boden Simon, Maple River

132: 1) Ayden Horner, Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove; 2) Thomas Freking, JCC

138: 1) Kade Sammons, Windom/Mountain Lake; 2) Tucker Wills, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial

145: 1) Zack Fier, Minneota; 2) Joe Anderson, Springfield

152: Payton Handevidt, JCC; 2) Jonah Gruenes, Minneota

160: Max Ehrich, Blue Earth Area; 2) Matthew Haley, Jackson County Central

170: Caden Johnson, TMB/WWG; 2) Josiah Hedensten, Medford

182: Tyler Archer, Westfield; 2) Nick Frank, Blue Earth Area

195: Caleb Vancura, JCC; 2) Carter Quam, Kenyon-Wanamingo

220: Brennan Hoffman, Medford; 2) Jackson Esping, Minneota

285: Luke Mertens, Blue Earth Area; 2) Shane Noyes, Canby