ST. MICHAEL -- Four area prep wrestlers captured individual championships Saturday at the Minnesota state tournament at St. Michael-Albertville High School.

Nolan Ambrose and Payton Handevidt of Jackson County Central, Hudson Burnett of Pipestone Area and Kade Sammons of Windom/Mountain Lake are tops in their weight classes in Class A. For Handevidt, it was his second straight state individual title.

In the team portion of the Class A tournament, Section 3 champion Jackson County Central lost 37-36 in the semifinals to Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale-Parkers Prairie, which earned falls in the final three weight classes to knot the score at 36-all. BHVPP was declared the winner by criteria, having earned one more fall in the showdown than the Huskies had.

In the other semifinal, Kimball outscored Royalton-Upsala 45-26. In the championship match, Kimball defeated Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale-Parkers Prairie 49-21.

JCC got victories from Nolan Ambrose (106), Kie Anderson (113), Logan Butzon (126), Thomas Freking (132), Coltan Bents (145), Payton Handevidt (160) and William Freking (182) to forge an 18-point lead on the Raiders. But BHVPP’s Gideon Ervasti pinned JCC’s Michael Hansen in 20 seconds at 195 pounds, James Grant pinned state qualifier Caleb Vancura in 3:57 at 220, and Hayden Captain pinned Trace Michelson in 4:42 at heavyweight.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Ambrose, a freshman, major decisioned Zach Remer of MLR 14-1 for his 106-pound individual title. He opened Saturday’s tourney with a 7-2 quarterfinal decision over Cole Sykora of BWB, then pinned Anthony Romero of GMLO in 3:15 in the semifinals.

Burnett, also a freshman at 113 pounds, first defeated Dawson Mcgee of WHAN, 15-4, before decisioning Jackson County Central’s Kie Anderson 7-4. In the championship match, he pinned Jevon Williams of ACGC, in 5:01.

Sammons, a senior, beat Sawyer Simmons of ROVP, 9-2, in his 138-pound quarterfinal. He followed that up with a 3-2 decision over New York Mills’ Dane Niemi. And he won the title with another close decision, 2-1, over John Paul Fitzpatrick of CRIR.

Handevidt, a junior, pinned Preston Mayfield of Frazee in 1:03 his first match at 152 pounds. He next decisioned Rece Voight of GMCO, 3-1. To win his second individual championship, he beat Landon Gode of LBW, 4-3.

Several other area wrestlers performed well in the Class A tournament.

Anderson placed third at 113 pounds with a 2-0 decision over David Revering of BHVP in his third-place match. JCC teammate Logan Butzon also got a third, beating Braden Thom of LBW in his third-place match at 126 pounds.

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove’s Ayden Horner was third at 132 pounds as he decisioned Coy Gunderson of KMS 3-1 in his last battle.

Horner’s teammate, Caden Johnson, defeated Hunter Dean of BHVP 12-9 for fifth place at 170 pounds

Jackson County Central’s Caleb Vancura lost his fifth-place match to Ethan Boll of CROO, 10-3, at 195. Teammate Matthew Haley lost twice on Saturday at 160 pounds and did not place. Another JCC wrestler, Thomas Freking, did not place at 132 pounds.

Team semifinals

106-Nolan Ambrose (JCC) pinned Bennet Arceneau in 3:51

113-Kie Anderson (JCC) decisioned David Revering 5-0

120-Deagen Captain (BHVPP) decisioned Seth Stai 6-2

126-Logan Butzon (JCC) pinned Holden Truax in 1:20

132-Thomas Freking (JCC) TF Aiden Larson 21-6 in 5:42

138-Reese Thompson (BHVPP) dec. Dylan Withers 3-2

145-Coltan Bents (JCC) pinned Justin Koehn in 1:25

152-Brock Peterson (BHVPP) pinned Isaiah Rodriguez in 1:24

160-Payton Handevidt (JCC) MD Mason Schroeder 10-2

170-Hunter Dean (BHVPP) pinned Matthew Haley in 5:43

182-William Freking (JCC) pinned Tyler Eggert in 3:36

195-Gideon Ervasti (BHVPP) pinned Michael Hansen in 0:20

220-James Grant (BHVPP) pinned Caleb Vancura in 3:57

HWT-Hayden Captain (BHVPP) pinned Trace Michelson in 4:42