West to play Rochester on Sunday

The Minnesota West Bluejays football team travels to Rochester on Sunday for a first-round MCAC playoff game. Game time is 1:30 p.m.

The Bluejays are 3-5 and seeded sixth in the tournament. Rochester is 4-3 and seeded third. The two combatants met during the regular season, when Minnesota West pulled off a 21-17 upset victory at a time when the Yellowjackets were ranked fifth in the national polls.

Last Saturday in their final regular season game, the Jays snapped a two-game losing streak with a 35-33 triple-overtime victory over MState-Fergus Falls in Worthington. MState defeated West 43-18 in both teams’ season openers.

Rochester had its final regular season game with Vermilion canceled due to Covid protocols.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

North Dakota State College of Science is the top playoff seed. Itasca is seeded second.

Section volleyball matchups set

The Worthington Trojans have been seeded eighth in the Section 2AAA volleyball tournament and will travel to play top-seeded Marshall in the first round at 7 p.m. on Wednesday. The tourney concludes Nov. 4 at the highest remaining seed.

Heron Lake-Okabena/Fulda in Section 3A and Jackson County Central in Section 3AA have earned top seeds in the south sub-sections of their tournaments.

The Section 3A tourney begins with a limited schedule first-round games on Monday. Westbrook-Walnut Grove (8S) plays Murray County Central (9S) in Westbrook beginning at 7 p.m., and Southwest Christian (7S) plays Hills-Beaver Creek (10S) in Edgerton at 7 p.m.

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton is the No. 2 seed in the southern half of the tournament. Minneota and Canby are seeded 1-2 in the north. The tournament concludes Nov. 6 at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall in a 7:30 p.m. start.

In Section 3AA, Paynesville and Eden Valley-Watkins are seeded 1-2 in the north. Luverne is the No. 2 seed in the south.

First-round games are set for Oct. 29, and all of the matches are 7 p.m. starts. In the south, Jackson County Central hosts St. James Area (8), Windom Area (4) hosts Redwood Valley (5), Pipestone Area (3) hosts Montevideo (6) and Luverne hosts Fairmont (7).

The tournament concludes Nov. 6 at 6 p.m. at SMSU in Marshall.