Auto racing: Curt Ahlers enjoys long-awaited B-Mod win

by Steve Zwemke WORTHINGTON -- For the first time in nearly 20 years Curt Ahlers of Flandreau, South Dakota parked his car in victory lane after leading every lap of Saturday night's De Ruyter Pallets USRA B-Modified ...

by Steve Zwemke

WORTHINGTON -- For the first time in nearly 20 years Curt Ahlers of Flandreau, South Dakota parked his car in victory lane after leading every lap of Saturday night’s De Ruyter Pallets USRA B-Modified feature at Nobles County Speedway. Ahlers was joined by family members and even grandchildren who got to see him win for the first time on “Ultimate Kids Night” sponsored by The Ground Round and Holiday Inn Express. Ahlers started on the pole and had to protect the bottom of the track from the likes of Cullen De Ruyter and Kole Nordquist. “I could hear their motors every time I came out of the corners,” said Ahlers. But, Ahlers was successful in shutting his opponents down in the even numbered turns which was the key to victory as he was pressed throughout the entire event. Nordquist finished second ahead of De Ruyter.
Several divisions saw the point standings tighten at the top after Saturday’s action. Most noticeably in the USRA B-Modifieds where Curt Ahlers is now just one point behind Cullen De Ruyter.
Rich Gregoire was also able to chip into Luke Sathoff’s lead in the Worthington Glass USRA Stock Cars. The two drivers started on the front row of the A-Main and were obviously taking note of how the B-Mod feature was playing out as they waited in staging. Once the green flag dropped, Sathoff worked the bottom ahead of Gregoire, Roger Verdoorn and Jon DeBoer. Gregoire was all over the back side of Sathoff’s number 5 ride, looking high and low – and finding the occasional hole. However, Gregoire wasn’t able to find enough momentum to drive by until very late in the race as the drivers came out of turn two. Gregoire then led the final two laps for his second win of the season. Sathoff holds a 15 point lead over Gregoire after finishing second.
“Woo,” was Nick Brady’s exclamation in victory lane after taking the Schwalbach Plumbing & Heating USRA Hobby Stock A-Main, his first of 2017! Brady, who has a Ric Flair wheel cover on his right rear, emulated the wrestling legend after topping a tough field of Hobby Stocks. Brady started seventh and marched to the front before holding off challenges from Nick Schilling, Corey Gronewald and Dan Strandberg. He has had one of the most competitive cars in the field over the last month and everything finally came together for the 61N team. Schilling finished second while Dustin Gulbrandson came from ninth to third.
Micro Sprints made their third trip to NCS. Their finish couldn’t have been more thrilling. Pole sitter John Sullivan broke away from the rest of the pack early and extended his lead to a full straightaway. As Sullivan was enjoying a huge lead, Russ Husman worked his way around Brooke Wegener and Justin Swenson. Once in second, Husman started to reel in Sullivan who was still enjoying a full straightaway lead with three laps to go. Husman closed fast and, on the final lap, drove right by Sullivan in the third and fourth turns en route to his second consecutive win at NCS. Sullivan missed his marks in the final corners which made it easy for Husman to capitalize. Justin Swenson followed Sullivan in third.
Andy Wieczorek is now a five time winner after taking the Sybesma Graphics Sportsman win. It ended a two week drought in which Roger DeBoer was the division’s top pilot. Wieczorek led the entire feature.
Joshua Uhl also cruised to victory in the Afterhour Graphics and Awards USRA Tuner class. Uhl was coming off a Friday night win at Murray County Speedway.
De Ruyter Pallets of Ruthton sponsors racing action on Saturday, August 5. Nobles County Speedway holds races through Labor Day weekend. For more information log onto or see the tracks Facebook page.

July 29, 2017
A Feature: 1. Rich Gregoire (Russell, MN), 2. Luke Sathoff (Jackson, MN), 3. Roger Verdoorn (Sibley, IA), 4. Jon DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 5. Derrick Nordstrom (Sioux Falls, SD), DNF: Scott Knudson (Elkton, SD)
Heat Winner: Luke Sathoff
A Feature: 1. Curt Ahlers (Flandreau, SD), 2. Kole Nordquist (Beresford, SD), 3. Cullen De Ruyter (Ruthton, MN), 4. Dave Kennedy (Sioux Falls, SD), 5. Jayden Larson (Mankato, MN), 6. Andrew Ahlers (Baltic, SD), 7. Darrin Noyes (Sioux Falls, SD), DNF: Wade Gunnink (Lake Wilson, MN), Jeff Wittrock (Sioux Falls, SD), Tyson DeKam (Edgerton, MN), Eric Faber (Sioux Center, IA), Anthony Voss, DNS: Jim Horejsi (Echo, MN)
Heat Winners: Kole Nordquist, Jim Horejsi
A Feature: 1. Nick Brady (Sioux Falls, SD), 2. Nick Schilling (Sanborn, IA), 3. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Corey Gronewald (Worthington, MN), 5. Jason Bradley (Sioux Falls, SD), 6. Dan Strandberg (Worthington, MN), 7. Ernie Dailey (Worthington, MN), 8. Ryan Mulder (Harrisburg, SD), 9. Tyler Schlumbohm (Sioux Falls, SD), 10. Nick Janssen (Sioux Falls, SD), 11. Joel Norris (Sioux Falls, SD), 12. Josh Bradley (Harrisburg, SD), 13. Silas Top (Hardwick, MN), DNF: Jim Ed Gunderson (Brandon, SD), Terry Larsen (Sioux Falls, SD)
Heat Winners: Dan Strandberg, Nick Schilling
A Feature: 1. Joshua Uhl (Luverne, MN), 2. Scott Espey (Alpha, MN), 3. Dylan Schreier (Hadley, MN)
A Feature: 1. Andy Wieczorek (Sioux Falls, SD), 2. Marni DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 3. Scotty DeJong (Rock Rapids, IA), DNS: Roger De Boer (Rock Rapids, IA)
Heat Winner: Andy Wieczorek
A Feature: 1. Russ Husman (Baltic, SD), 2. John Sullivan (Arnolds Park, IA), 3. Justin Swenson (Westbrook, MN), 4. Brooke Wegener (Sioux Falls, SD), 5. Chris Schoenrock (Colman, SD), 6. Duane Haugen (Sioux Falls, SD), DNF: Cody Wegener (Sioux Falls, SD), Nick Birchard (Spencer, IA), Danny Harmon (Canton, SD)
Heat Winner: John Sullivan

What To Read Next
Friday night high school sports roundup:
WORTHINGTON – Injuries and fouls plagued the Worthington Trojans girl’s basketball team in a Big South Conference contest against stalwart St. Peter on Friday night. The Saints defeated the Trojans 74-53.
WORTHINGTON – The top 10 teams in Minnesota Class A high school gymnastics will be in Worthington on Saturday (Jan. 28) for the state True Team meet. Participating teams are Becker, Benson, Big Lake, Byron, Detroit Lakes, Mankato West, Melrose, New London-Spicer, St. Peter, and Worthington.
Tom Goehle, son of legendary coach Hugo Goehle, was once a star athlete at Hills-Beaver Creek High School. Now he gives back through coaching and his involvement in Fellowship of Christian Athletes.