Auto racing: Zevenbergen's latest win comes in NCS stock car special

By Steve Zwemke via WORTHINGTON -- "It looks like we're racing for second tonight," a couple of drivers joked when Stock Car ace Elijah Zevenbergen pulled into the pits Saturday night at Nobles County Speedway. The $8...

By Steve Zwemke


WORTHINGTON --  “It looks like we’re racing for second tonight,” a couple of drivers joked when Stock Car ace Elijah Zevenbergen pulled into the pits Saturday night at Nobles County Speedway. The $800 to win event drew a 15 car field for the Worthington Glass USRA Stock Car portion of De Ruyter Pallets night at NCS, including Zevenbergen, who continues to be at the very top of his game. The Ocheyedan, Iowa racer won the night before at Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, Iowa.
The beginning of the feature was costly for Dustin Larson. After the first green flag, Larson got together with Dustin Gulbrandson. Both drivers had to go to the work area – Larson for a flat tire. They were able to tag the rear. With a lap scored, Roger Verdoorn jumped the next start while leader Stefan Sybesma held his pace at the front. The resulting accordion affect ended with Larson’s car disabled in the fourth turn. He was unable to continue from that point.
Sybesma continued with the lead early until Zevenbergen sped past. Zevenbergen, who started sixth, never looked back. His win also came with a $200 bonus from Big Orv’s Bar in Adrain, Minnesota. Zevenbergen is the first driver to win Big Orv’s Bonus in the USRA Stock Car division. The win was his second at Nobles County Speedway this season. He was followed across the line by Sybesma, Luke Sathoff, Dylan Fitzpatrick and Paul Wenzlaff.
The De Ruyter Pallets USRA B-Modified feature culminated in an amazing finish. Tim Dann out battled Andrew Ahlers early in the race. Cullen De Ruyter made his way to second after getting by Ahlers. He hassled Dann for several laps while Jason Andrews came from sixth to join them. A late race caution forced a single file restart in which Andrews made the move of the night by passing De Ruyter and Dann immediately. The Estherville, Iowa driver then raced to his first Nobles County Speedway win.
A similar situation highlighted the Schwalbach Plumbing & Heating USRA Hobby Stock feature. Chad Lonneman successfully held off Dustin Gulbrandson for most of the race. While it looked like Tyler Pospisil may have to settle for third, he had an excellent car from the start of the night. A green/white/checker finish proved that Pospisil and his car were up to the challenge. As Gulbrandson was able, for the first time in the feature, to pull alongside Lonneman, they raced cleanly out of turn four to the white flag. But as they travelled down the front stretch the drivers touched. Using the high side, Pospisil got by both drivers and took the lead before all three came out of turn two. He carried that momentum all the way to the checkered flag for his first win. Lonneman grabbed second ahead of Gulbrandson while Corey Gronewald came from 11th to fourth.
Chad Nachtigal made it a clean sweep in the Micro Sprints. He checked out early while fellow front row starter Chris Schoenrock chalked up a nice second place finish. The Micro Sprints had six entries. They will race the rest of the season on Saturdays at NCS.
Luke Jackson became the first two-time winner in the Afterhour Awards and Graphics USRA Tuner class. Jackson grabbed the lead from Jason Wynia before earning the checkers. Wynia and Danny VanderVeen locked up in an exciting battle for second which was won by Wynia.
Andy Wieczorek’s sixth win of the season places him just 10 points behind Scotty DeJong in the Sybesma Graphics Sportsmans. Wieczorek led all 10 laps while Marni DeBoer nearly stole the win away on the final two laps.
Racing is presented by DuPont Pioneer and 266 Ag Service with Busch Seeds and Russell Seeds on Saturday, August 12 during the Nobles County Fair. Hot laps begin at 7:00 p.m. See details at and be sure to visit the NCS Facebook page.
August 5, 2017
A Feature: 1. Elijah Zevenbergen (Ocheyedan, IA), 2. Stefan Sybesma (Sanborn, IA), 3. Luke Sathoff (Jackson, MN), 4. Dylan Fitzpatrick (Sioux Falls, SD), 5. Paul Wenzlaff (Yankton, SD), 6. Spencer Kalass (Luverne, MN), 7. Rich Gregoire (Russell, MN), 8. Jon DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 9. Gary Mattison (Lamberton, MN), 10. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 11. Roger Verdoorn (Sibley, IA), 12. Scott Knudson (Elkton, SD), DNF: Eric Gaul (Rushmore, MN), Derrick Nordstrom (Sioux Falls, SD), Dustin Larson (Worthington, MN)
Heat Winners: Dustin Larson, Luke Sathoff
A Feature: 1. Jason Andrews (Estherville, IA), 2. Cullen De Ruyter (Ruthton, MN), 3. Tim Dann (Hartford, SD), 4. Andrew Ahlers (Baltic, SD), 5. Lyndon Johnson (Montrose, SD), 6. Kole Nordquist (Beresford, SD), 7. Curt Ahlers (Flandreau, SD), 8. Aaron De Thury (Sioux Falls, SD), DNF: Wade Gunnink (Lake Wilson, MN), Darrin Noyes (Sioux Falls, SD), Tyson DeKam (Edgerton, MN)
Heat Winners: Andrew Ahlers, Jason Andrews
A Feature: 1. Tyler Pospisil (Fulda, MN), 2. Chad Lonneman (Adrian, MN), 3. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Corey Gronewald (Worthington, MN), 5. Dan Strandberg (Worthington, MN), 6. Tyler Schumbohm (Sioux Falls, SD), 7. Justin Regnerus (Middleburg, IA), 8. Joel Norris (Sioux Falls, SD), 9. Nick Janssen (Sioux Falls, SD), 10. Jason Bradley (Sioux Falls, SD), 11. Jackson Kracht (Luverne, MN), 12. Josh Bradley (Harrisburg, SD), 13. Jason Paulson (Hills, MN), DNF: Michael Weidert (Lismore, MN), Josh Lien (Sioux Falls, SD), Jake Manitz (Sibley, IA), Terry Larsen (Sioux Falls, SD), Nick Schilling (Sanborn, IA), DQ: Tom Kracht (Luverne, MN)
Heat Winners: Dustin Gulbrandson, Tyler Pospisil, Chad Lonneman
A Feature: 1. Chad Nachtigal (Little Rock, IA), 2. Chris Schoenrock (Colman, SD), 3. Russ Husman (Baltic, SD), 4. Nick Birchard (Spencer, IA), 5. John Sullivan (Arnolds Park, IA), DNF: Ryan Schuur (Chandler, MN)
Heat Winner: Chad Nachtigal
A Feature: 1. Luke Jackson (Sioux City, IA), 2. Jason Wynia (Garvin, MN), 3. Danny VanderVeen (Sioux City, IA), 4. Scott Espey (Alpha, MN), 5. Robert Pottratz (Lynd, MN), 6. Ryan Westman (Odin, MN), DNF: Dylan Schreier (Hadley, MN), DQ: Joshua Uhl (Luverne, MN)
A Feature: 1. Andy Wieczorek (Sioux Falls, SD), 2. Marni DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 3. Clint Sheppard (Sioux Center, IA), 4. Scotty DeJong (Rock Rapids, IA), DNS: Roger DeBoer (Rock Rapids, IA)
Heat Winner: Andy Wieczorek

What To Read Next
Monday high school sports roundup:
Luverne is seeded No. 1 in the upcoming Section 3A girls high school hockey tournament and Worthington is seeded sixth.
The Worthington Trojans boys basketball team played exceptional defense against Canistota, surrendering a mere 11 points in the first half.
Outstanding outside shooting helped the Eagles beat Worthington in Worthington, 82-68